We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We always stay at Courtyards, and the Charleston Historic District hotel was one of the top Courtyards we have been in. The concierge was extremely knowledgeable and helpful -- he has awards posted on the wall near his desk and I can see why. The room was perfect. Clean, quiet, comfortable. We were so worn out from the walking tour we ended up having a low key light meal and glass of wine at the Bistro in the hotel. It was perfect for our situation that evening. We would chose this hotel again on a return trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    361
    98
    26
    13
See reviews for
324
525
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location was good and the room was a decent size, but this was the loudest hotel I've ever stayed in. The doors slam shut loudly. It was hard to avoid even if you tried to close it quietly and most people weren't trying to be quiet. The front desk had an answer about it being for safety - to make sure the doors shut in the event of a fire, but I travel frequently (I've stayed in six different hotels this month alone) and have never experienced the amount of noise that I did at this one. We also had negative experiences with the housekeeping staff. Our bathroom didn't have any bath towels and it took two calls to the front desk and about 30 minutes to get some sent up on our arrival day. On day two we returned to the room around 4 pm after being ou

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear StacylnDC2012,

Thank you for staying with us here in Charleston. We appreciate your feedback very much.

You identified correctly that our room doors in the new wing have a more vigorous door closer. Based on your feedback we have contacted a company to adjust that pressure down slightly but of course they are self-closing for guest safety and security.

I also apologize for the poor service you experienced in housekeeping while you were here and we are trying to implement a better way of handling every request. We are currently reinforcing our inspection process and we will be able to prevent this situation in the future.

I am hopeful that you will be able to visit us again in the future . We do take pride in our brand and in the consistency and quality that Marriott stands for.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed one night for a short "tourist" trip to Charleston.

Pros:
-Good location (walked everywhere we wanted to go)
-Friendly staff
-Clean, comfortable room
-Refrigerator in room
-Computers in lobby

Minor Cons:
-Water consistently sprayed so hard from bathroom faucet (when turned on), that got on counter and toiletries
-Wi-Fi pretty weak
-Long wait for concierge (although we were there at a very busy time of year)

FYI:
-It's $16/day for parking. Garages were full, so parked right across the street (street was fairly busy) -- there was ample parking there and seemed very safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel has a great location, park your car and get around the historic section. The first thing I noticed is that for what appears to be a new building they have two very, very long, narrow wheelchair ramps at either end of the front proch. It was pouring rain when I arrived so I was grateful for the covered portico to get out of my car but then I found that in order to go up the ramp not only do you have to go out in the rain but you have to roll under some short awnings which are draining onto the wheelchair ramp or more specifically onto you.
I asked for a wheelchair accessible room with a roll in shower. The room was right beside the elevator, not a long way to push but very noisy as through the night everyone getting off the elevator stood outside my door talking. I have a suggestion for the manager, a large sign that could be placed by the elevator in the lobby after 11 pm asking guests to be considerate of other sleeping guests.
The room get mixed reviews. The bathroom was one of the most accessible I have been in, except that the bench in the shower should have been broader and wider for the safety of someone transferring to and from a wheelchair. The real problem was that the height of the beds was 30+ inches when the average wheelchair seat height is 24 inches. In the middle of the night I wsas too tired to lift back up into bed and had to ask the front desk clerk to give me a hand, a little embarrassing.

Room Tip: The room views are on he front of the building but that is were the traffic noise is. Not near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerylR335, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for sending the information about your stay. While we were certified by an auditor to be compliant for ADA regulations, several of your suggestions were very practical and helpful. A) Bed height - we can remove the bed frame from the box springs and matress as a way of lowering the bed. In fact, we have done this in the past and will be more sensitive of this option going forward.
B) Rain flow from awning - This is an easy fix... and we will look into the option of a rain diverter system.
C) The shower bench size - Another option we can offer is the portable shower bench. We have 2 on site.
D) Noise after 11am - We can be more sentive of the guest profile on floors to better accomodate the'late night' guest vs the those that go to bed earlier.
Again, I want to thank you for the feedback...this is how we can 'tweek' oue service levels and become more aware of all of our guests needs. Please contact me directly when you return to Charleston and I hope you will use our hotel on any return visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Pros: location is good. Concierge is great and very knowlegeable. I recommened checking with them as you plan your day sightseeing. The bistro is a fun and comfortable spot for a quick snack or drink. Cons: rooms are the typical thin walled marriott with doors that slam shut loudly. Our room had a moldly shower curtain. House keeping replaced right away after our call but the staff should have done it on its own. The cleaning staff is this hotel's downfall The staff is rude and leaves carts in the middle of the hallway expecting guests to maneuver around them. They play music loudly as they clean even though many guests may still be sleeping. One staff member pushed her way into the elevator before the guests getting off on that floor were allowed to exit. Fitness center is small for hotel of this size with very limited equipment. Only one stablility ball that was virtually flat. Over the two days I was there, the center was never cleaned and though there water cooler, there were no cups. Parking is not expensive but the lot is small and the overflow is across the street which is difficult to cross with current construction. Overall I would try somewhere else but if expense is an issue this place is tolerable for a night or two.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Statestreet96,

Thank you for staying with us here in Charleston. Your review was very thorough and balanced the positive and negative. I am very apologetic for the poor housekeeping attitude and lack of cleanliness in the fitness room. We will not tolerate the type of attitude and any form of rudeness towards our guest at this hotel. We have been working diligently to get our team engaged to provide a higher level of service. I believe that this was a rare exception.

You did correctly point out that our parking lot is relatively limited in space. In addition to the parking lot across the street, we also have access to another lot (open Fri 6pm-Sun 10pm) which is conveniently located in back of the hotel and you are able to enter through the same entrance as someone in our lot.

Please know that we appreciate your business and we are hopeful that you will continue to look for Marriott brands in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Rohan Chopra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A really nice, clean and classy establishment in a great location. Their concierge Kevin, however, is really what sets this place apart. The multitude of sites and restaurant options can make Charleston a surprisingly overwhelming place to deftly navigate. But with Kevin as your guide you instantly become equipped with stellar local insights. He has an uncanny ability to cater his suggestions for guests to their particular tastes and interests. His recommendations for restaurants were superb and his insights into amazing cocktail bars were an added bonus. He also equipped us with homemade maps and tips on how to get the most of historical walking tours (with a great guide named Tommy Dew), strolls down nostalgic residential lanes, and authentic plantations and swamps. I really can't say enough about how wonderfully Kevin transformed our Charleston experience. I would stay here again over the B&Bs and other hotels in the area hands down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutler Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Service was incredible. Staff was 2nd to none and the advice from Kevin the concierge was the best! He is tops! The wife and I went for our 25th anniversary and the recommendations from Kevin made extremely special. The hotel staff made us feel like royalty. Great location, easy walk to most attractions and sites.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.