We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique experience in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We, like other reviewers, had an extraordinary experience in Charleston, due in large part to the personal interest, enthusiasm, and deep knowledge of the city by the concierge, Kevin McQuade. Kevin talked with us about our interests, got a feel for who we were, and then crafted our entire stay for us - including personally taking us around for an hour and a half to see the city at night! The gardens and houses are illuminated in a way that makes the city magical. It was the highlight of our experience in Charleston. He also recommended an excellent walking tour, several uniformly delicious and varied restaurants, and shared a map he'd created with "photo op" suggestions - it was a terrific, fun way of getting to see the historic district, almost like a treasure hunt. It made the city come alive, and we've ended up with some great images and memories.

I would certainly recommend this hotel - comfortable, conveniently located (just on the edge of the historic district), more reasonable than most B&B's, and highly customer focused. All the staff were excellent, and working with Kevin is a real treat - he went above and beyond any concierge we've ever dealt with. Outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear EllenGlanz,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of our hotel and Kevin on TripAdvisor. The way in which you describe your visit and how it all came together gives Kevin and our team a tremendous sense of satisfaction, all because the trip will be so memorable for you for all the right reasons.

Your description of Kevin is real and he is motivated to provide the uniqueness and personal insights so that,"the city comes alive," in the way that you wanted to see it and fits to your style.

We also appreciate the fact that you noted our team was customer focused and that the experience as a whole was outstanding.

We hope that you will consider visiting us again in Charleston.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    290
    75
    20
    9
See reviews for
272
436
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I could go on and on about this hotel and the EXCELLENT treatment my daughter and I got from the moment we arrived. We shared only one night at the hotel. We arrived at noon, both from out of town and Charleston was hafway for both of us. The hotel was accomodating, clean, quiet and pretty. The location was the sweet part and walking/bike riding distance from all of historic downtown Charleston! THE BEST part of our trip to this hotel was Kevn, the famous Consierge, who was AMAZING. If it had not been for his knowledge and services we would have never known what to do, thus never had been able to cover so much of the historic downtown Charleston! We rode bikes, went on tours, ate at delicious restaurants and Kevin even took us on a midnight tour of the city! He was the best part of our trip.....one caveat: Do whatever Keviin tells you to do, he has a sixth sense about people and he will steer you right if you listen to him!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Merribev,

Thank you for the excellent review on TripAdvisor and for coming to visit us in Charleston.

We see that you visited us from Ohio and we are amazed at how many visitors that we get from your great state every week. Other than South Carolina, it is easily the state that brings our hotel the most guests.

We are starting to believe that Kevin does have a "sixth sense" based on the great feedback that he continues to receive. We are happy to hear that you had a great "reunion" with your daughter at a great midway point and it all came together better than you might have expected.

We are hopeful that you will make the Courtyard by Marriott in the Historic District your continual meeting spot and that there are many more visits to come.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Awesome location. Walking distance to everything great downtown. Beautiful hotel, great staff, the two male bartenders were great. But Maya at the front desk was outstanding! We had minor issues, and she was so kind to listen and care about our needs. This girl is a great asset to the hotel. The parking fee of $16 a night was a little steep, but that's what you get for a great location. Will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Ashley,

Thank you for the great review and for spending the weekend in Charleston with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott at the corner of Meeting and Calhoun.

Thank you as well for recognizing both John and Daniel that work the Bar/Bistro in the evening and for pointing out Maya's excellent customer service skills. They all do an amazing job of creating a warm and inviting experience for our guests.

When you are ready for another perfect weekend, or better yet, a whole week, please come back to see us at the Courtyard.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
1,730 helpful votes 1,730 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently had a really lovely 2 night stay at the Courtyard Marriott in Charleston for which we paid $159/nt. Here are the key aspects of our visit:

1. Location: The Courtyard was located just outside the historic zone but it was an easy walk down Meeting St to get to everything. It was also quick to leave when we checked out.
2. Parking: Parking was in a basement garage and was complimentary.
3. Internet: Free and high speed.
4. Refreshments: Our minibar fridge was empty which we liked so we could store things there. We had a coffee maker in our room however there was also fresh brewed complimentary coffee and hot tea in the lobby every morning. Additionally, the Courtyard had a small cafe serving food to go as well as Starbucks coffee.
5. Service: Every single staff member of the Courtyard that we encountered was friendly and helpful. Requests for extra towels were honored quickly.
6. Decor: It was refreshing to have modern, clean decor which gave the hotel non-stuffy and fresh vibe.

We had a great stay and will definitely stay here (and other Courtyards) again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jemimagold,

Thank you for such a great review and for being a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor. We can tell that you are a seasoned traveler and your detail and comments are impressive and appreciated.

I would only offer a slight amendment just to be sure that people have correct information. We do charge for parking since we are in a very compact downtown location and spaces are extremely scarce. We have 2 different parking areas on site and we overflow into lots on front and back of hotel during sold out nights.

We hope that you will hurry back to Charleston soon!

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Courtyard primarily because of its proximity to my office, but have to say that he location is great. It's a short block to King Street and all the shopping and restaurants that offers. It's ideally located between upper King and the Market area making most places in Charleston walkable! The staff at the hotel are also very helpful and the breakfast area very convenient and tasty. I stay for business and friends and colleagues local to Charleston take care of reservations. As such, I do not use the Concierge. However, by reading the other post and the recommendations noted I can certainly see that there recommendations are top notch! I have stayed at many of the Inns and higher end hotels in Charleston and can say that the Courtyard is typically a good value.

The restaurants and nightlife in Charleston are as good as any I have seen in the US. It is a fabulous place for a romantic getaway or family city / Beach vacation and the Courtyard is an outstanding and affordable place to do that from!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We decided to check out Charleston after a 4 day conference in Atlanta. At first we looked at some of the pricey B&B's, but opted for the Courtyard Historic District. I'm SO GLAD we did! The caring and pampering started at check in, continued with the bellman and was highlighted by the amazing concierge service they have. We spent time with both Elizabeth and Kevin throughout our time there. They recommended a historic walking tour given by a local historian/author. What a great way to get an overview and feel of the city. They provided maps to overlooked areas that made for a less crowded experience. Since my husband and I are professional photographers, they sent us off with maps to photograph the non-traditional shots around Charleston. The restaurant recommendations were wonderful as well. The rooms were fresh and clean, and very well designed. It felt extravagant. What a special place it is. I didn't know there was a hotel where everyone smiled at you all the time..no grouches here. Just nice, friendly and helpful people! Do yourself a favor and try them.

Room Tip: We were on the water side of the hotel on the corner. It was quiet, with a lovely view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a long weekend trip away from Toronto to escape the encroaching winter. My first time using TripAdvisor, we stumbled across the reviews for Kevin and booked a trip in November. The hotel is very clean, modern rooms, great staff, excellent location, but clearly it knows the value it has in Kevin McQuade, the Chief Concierge. I hope they've given this man an ownership interest.

Over a long telephone conversation on his own time one night, he asked us a ton of questions to get the feel of what would make the trip for us. What was our age? Would we consider ourselves foodies? (love food, but not pretentiously) To what extent were we willing to go outside our wheelhouse? Did we want to eschew "touristy" in place of "living low"? The end result was an action packed itinerary that we never would have been able to assemble, we felt that comfortable putting our entire trip in Kevin's hands. I can't believe we did so much over a 4-day trip while feeling so relaxed.

We were not disappointed. Charleston is spectacular. We got lost in the architecture, the food (I loved the idea of low country cuisine 3-ways over our 3 nights in town -- MacIntosh, Lucca, and Husk). I can still taste the old fashioned at The Mac ... I've been trying to replicate it ever since. A key highlight of our trip was the incredible night-time private walking tour that Kevin took us on at his suggestion, "sans touristes" (except us of course)

Takeaway: Take a flyer on this one. Get in touch with Kevin before you go -- you won't be disappointed. Be open to the suggestions. You'll come away experiencing much more of this under-appreciated city than you'd ever anticipate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Dave B,

Thank you for coming to visit us in Charleston all the way from Toronto. We appreciate your excellent marks and for providing such great detail of your stay with us.

Your tip to call Kevin ahead of time is valuable insight and given the opportunity he typically hits a home run for the guest. The other benefit that you noted was by allowing Kevin to influence your itinerary, it didnt feel overwhelming and you had a full but relaxing visit.

In closing you mentioned that Charleston is "under-appreciated", but I might differ with that view based on the last few years of ratings and reviews of the city. Conde' Nast readers have rated it the best destination in the United States for 2 years running and there are numerous other accolades rolling in. It is definitely on the radar, but we sure encourage more people to come check us out and stay here at the Courtyard in the Historic District.

We hope to see you again soon in the Holy City.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.