We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel to Historic District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
new orleans
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel to Historic District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the Courtyard in Charleston. Rates were reasonable, property was conveniently located to the historic area (walking distance) and room was very clean. Staff was also accommodating. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear JillieMax,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We can see that you are a regular contributor on this site and we always appreciate another recommendation.

We hope that you will return to Charleston soon and we would enjoy having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    269
    67
    19
    8
See reviews for
262
406
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We travel to Charleston frequently and we have stayed at the Francis Marion and Charleston Place in addition to this property. Our stay was very nice - very Marriott like - which is a good thing. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and helpful. We had read about the famous concierge but did not have time to utilize his services.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Luv2snorkle53,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your business and we also thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit.

It is unfortunate that you didnt have time to spend with Kevin, perhaps on your next visit you can sit down with him for some helpful insights and recommendations.

It is apparent that you like Marriott's consistency and that we are predictably good. That is certainly a hallmark for Marriott brands and we try very hard to live up to those great standards. There are over 900 Courtyard by Marriott hotels across the world now and it continues to grow because our brand has earned the trust of travelers like you.

We hope that you will always stay with us here in the Charleston Historic District!

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am a platinum member of the Marriott and travel almost every week for work. We have travelled all over the world and so feel that we are pretty seasoned when it comes to experience. My husband and I were totally wowed by the service at this property. From the folks who checked us in at the front desk to the folks who took care of our room we really felt taken care of.
We have to give a shout out to Kevin the concierge-he was OUTSTANDING!!! He spent time listening to what our interests were and got started on making sure every minute we had was used to the max-somehow he managed to get us reservations at the hotest resturant in town, got us on the perfect walking tour and made sure we knew all about the little secrets that just made our trip perfect!
Do NOT hesitate to use Kevin if you stay at the Courtyard-he will absolutely make the difference in having a GREAT time vs a good time!
We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet and high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Bernadette S,

Thank you for such an outstanding review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your Platinum status with Marriott Rewards and we know that traveling that much can be rewarding and painful all at the same time.

For you to consider your experience "a Total Wow," we trust that we reached our goal of making your trip memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you for recognizing Kevin's efforts and we will continue to support and encourage him as he continues to impress our guests.

We will hold you to "definitely coming back" and we look forward to seeing you again very soon because another GREAT time is just around the corner.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was just a one night stop so I didn't get a lot of time to experience everything the hotel had to offer but, the staff alone (as with most Marriotts) made it worthwhile. The room was clean but, you could tell no one had stayed in that room for awhile. It had that shut up, no air moving in it smell. There are hotels closer to the Market area but, the Courtyard is still just a short walk there. All in all, not a bad place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Bassin66,

Thanks for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor and for your great review.

I wholeheartedly agree that we have a great team here and also that Marriott does a great job overall when it comes to service and hiring great people. We try very hard to create an environment that allows them to thrive and in turn give you an experience that builds loyalty to our brands. It is apparent that you have confidence in our brand.

I also see that your room didnt appear to have that fresh sense and we are working hard to give our rooms a thorough cleaning that will give it that pop that you are looking for. We never turn our air conditioners in the off position. We do have very high tech thermostats in every room and they have sensors built in that work based on movement in the room and that could have been the issue.

Thank you for coming to visit us for a night, and we hope to be able to see you for an extended visit soon.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the weekend right after Thanksgiving, 2012. It was a very nice hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Charleston.
The are just a couple of reasons why I gave this a 4 and not a 5. Reason one is that the rooms and bathrooms were not as well lit as I would have liked, especially when trying to apply makeup! It would be wise of this hotel to at least beef up the bathroom lighting. I'm afraid I ended up being a little too heavy handed with the makeup because I couldn't see! The other reason was the parking. It is very limited, very tight, and costs a ridiculous $16 a day for SELF parking. Our Camry had a hard time fitting in the top lot, as the bottom lot was always full.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I visited Charleston for the first time over Thanksgiving. We meet Kevin McQuade the concierge when we arrived. He was full of all kinds of wonderful information about the city. We did not have reservations for dinner on Thanksgiving but he was able to get us in at a wonderful resturant. He took us on a night tour of the city which was one of the highlights of our trip. Kevin is excellent at what he does! The hotel was very clean, comfortable and in an excellent location. The hotel is within walking distance to the whole historical district.

Room Tip: Top floor (6th) rooms quite and some have good views of the historic district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My fiance and I came to Charleston to check out places for our wedding. We were told by a family member to see Kevin, as he may have advice on where to look. We spent well over an hour with him. He was patient with all of our questions and gave us great inforamtion on places to check out. Thanks to Kevin we found our location of the ceremony, which we never would have found if it wasn't for him. He also gave us an amazing tour at night! He shows true passion for Charleston and what it has to offer. The Hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a very convenient location. We will be making quite a few trips back to Charleston for planning purposes and will stay here every time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.