We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Avon, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Choose this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had such a wonderful and warm experience at this hotel. It was clean, beautiful, and the staff was extremely friendly. We so ejoyed sitting on the porch at the end of the day. Charelston is just so charming and we feel lucky that we experienced its charm through the hotel's concierge, Kevin McQuade. He was amazing and took the guess work out of our visit so we could relax and really just take in the sights. We had detailed directions to all the highlights of the city as well as restaurant and menu recommendations We were able to focus on seeing the sights rather than trying to find them. We were even given ideas for good photo opportunities and the directions to the best public bathrooms while walking the city. He made arrangements for everything and his recommendations were spot on. We were lucky enough to experience a personal evening tour with Kevin that was the highlight of our trip. The city is historic, romantic, beautiful, and prestine. The hotel was a perfect location. Kevin has a captivating personality and shares his passion for Charleston with the guests. We have so many special memories and put this vacation and its location at the top of our list. Go to Charleston and choose this Hotel, You will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    288
    75
    20
    9
See reviews for
272
434
17
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I had selected this hotel, based on its central location around the Charleston historic district, as a special trip for a marriage proposal. We had an incredible experience at this hotel due to the location, cleanliness, décor, assistance from staff…..especially the concierge… Kevin McQuade! During our visit I wanted to plan the perfect weekend for a proposal. Kevin not only provided insight about the best tours (gave us one of his own), restaurants, sights to see, but he made the reservations and transportation arrangements for us which enabled us to see and do so much because he coordinated it for us. The most significant assistance he provided was to identify the perfect location and logistics for a very special marriage proposal that we always remember. The insight and assistance that Kevin provided enabled me to relax about the planning details and really enjoy all the activities on this special weekend. Our experience at this hotel and the incredibly helpful and enthusiastic assistance from an incredible concierge is one that we will never forget when we reflect back on our engagement weekend in the Charleston historic district! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We love to stay with Marriott on our travels and Charlestown was no exception. The hotel has an extremely friendly staff -Maggie was so helpful!! The room was clean and we were in walking distance of shopping and restaurants.The reviews of this hotel and ESPECIALLY of Kevin were spot on-even more than I could have hoped for! My husband and I phone- conferenced with Kevin a few months before our trip. We told him our interests, including food preferences and he set up a 6 day itinerary for us that was amazing! What a wonderful adventure in a beautiful city. We began by reviewing our activities with him on the day of arrival. He had everything mapped out including restaurant driving/walking directions from the hotel and menu recommendations based on interviews with chefs from each eatery.Here's a summary of our stay. Day 1 we took a tour of Charleston in Jane Thornhill's car. She is an 86 year old dynamo, a registered tourist guide and a wealth of information. After eating at the Hominy Grill we met Kevin back at the hotel for a night walking tour of some magical alley ways of his city. Listening to the fountains and peeking in at some of the beautiful up- lit gardens was my favorite part of our stay. Day 2 was devoted to Magnolia Plantation. Kevin had a map of the plantation complete with his and Elizabeth's tips of where to go and when. We followed it completely and were thrilled with our 5 hour experience there. The Audobon Swamp Garden was our favorite part. To be fair, we are nature lovers and walkers. The evening ended with dinner at Hanks. (Delicious She Crab soup.) Day 3 we were off on the Barrier Island Eco Tour with naturalist Bob and his adorable dog. We spent about 2 hours beach combing, looking at the various trees being overtaken by the water and sand and relaxing. Dolphins, crabs and various sea birds were spotted on our trip. If you love nature, this is the tour for you.That night we ate at the chef's table at Cru Cafe and it was the best restaurant experience ever!!! This "table" is actually a copper covered counter that seats 4 people and overlooks the activity of the 3 chefs in the kitchen . Front row seats! My husband loves to cook and got some great tips from the chefs there. They were friendly, busy and the food was five star. We loved it so much we cancelled our day 5 restaurant reservation and went back to the chef's table at Cru again! Had mac and cheese twice-just couldn't resist! Day 4 included a walking tour with Tommy Dew. He taught us so much about the history of this wonderful city and I highly recommend that you tour with him. In the late afternoon we went to Middleton Plantation which has a beautiful restaurant called Middleton Place. I felt like we were in a picture postcard when we were seated by a window overlooking a burst of nature. The service was excellent and food delicious. We arrived an hour early and walked around the grounds following the posted tour signs. Day 5 included the Rutledge Avenue Tour of historic homes and Kevin supplied a driver to take us there and pick us up at the end of the tour. So convenient for us.That night we had our second Cru Cafe dinner! Yum!!! Day 6 we toured Fort Sumter. Kevin provided us with a detailed map of the fort (which he had made) and a list of tips about making the most of our visit. Now you'd think that Kevin's guidance and expertise would be over at this point because we were moving on to Savannah...but once again we were taken under Kevin's wing and he gave us directions and info about Sheldon Church Ruins-an ethereal historic site on our way to Savannah. His other gifts to us were a Kevin- Made Map of Savannah with restaurant tips and a suggestion to take the Savannah Dan Walking Tour-great way to learn about the city! I highly recommend the delicious Savannah Dan style choc milkshakes ( for choc lovers) at Leopold's Ice Cream Parlor. Soooo good! Two other excellent tips he gave us included visiting Jones Street and eating at The Olde Pink House Restaurant. We did both and were not disappointed. I will end this Ode to Kevin by telling anyone reading this review that the only way to experience Charleston is "Kevin McQuade Style"!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September for our first visit to Charleston. The staff made our experience at the hotel excellent. Kevin was very knowledgable and guided us to some great restauants and made the reservations for us. When we had trouble getting a cab, the hotel staff drove us to the restaurant. Every member of the staff went above their job to be helpful. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

I travel frequently for work and am platinum elite with Marriott. I've stayed at cream of the crop hotels, truly fabulously appointed places, but none has a concierge as full of life, as knowledgeable, or as resourceful as Kevin McQuade. The hotel is in great shape but currently undergoing construction so be cautious of your room location and view if that's an issue. No hot tub :-( but that's my only complaint.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristyCHSHD, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on our Bistro Breakfast... We have taken your concerns to our management team and look forward to bringing back our breakfast buffet within the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The hotel is fairly new. Rooms are decorated nicely with lots of photos of Charleston spots. Still some construction going on but not too disturbing - a bit of noise but nothing awful. The breakfast option is not great - the hotel calls it "bistro style" but I disagree. Everything is already prepared or warmed up so it's slightly reminiscent of airline meals.

There is, however, a great asset and that is the concierge. A knowledgeable man with wonderful sense of humor and a bit of the blarney. Flattery will get you everywhere, Kevin McQuade! Kevin made some wonderful suggestions for us. Best of all was his tip to visit the Farmer's Market in Marion Square (a two minute walk from the Hotel) on Saturday AM. He told us to try the crepes stand which we did. Very popular with the locals. The market also has some interesting crafts in addition to the usual veggies, fruit and other items ( such as homemade pasta). We could not get a res at SNOB for dinner on Fri or Sat night so Kevin suggested lunch and we did that, which was fabulous. Kevin also suggested two other restaurants and both were very good.

So listen to Kevin who is a wealth of information and a very pleasant man.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The selection of this hotel was heavily influenced by TripAdvisor reviews--and we were not disappointed. The accommodations were at the higher level of Courtyard standards.The location was perfect, close enough to the historical district to be convenient, and with easy access to routes out of town for day trips to plantations, etc. We are big walkers The fitness center was clean and better than average. All the staff were all cheerful and help, and the concierge, Kevin, was a special delight. He gave us good advice on restaurants, and arranged for a quick walking tour that turned out to be superb (ask for Ed Macy's tour). We are not "tour" people, but in this case it was a great idea. Kevin can also give good advice on everything from day trips to plantations (Drayton Hall is a delight) to where to get gifts that are made locally. Kevin is an enthusiastic Charleston booster--just let him know what you want and stick to it--he'll be a great help. One note on breakfast: Courtyard has its own breakfast which is OK. But a short walk across Citadel square (less than 5 minutes) is Virginia on King's, which is breakfast delight and comparable in price while of better quality. (One of the Courtyard staff clued us in--that person will remain nameless). When we go back again to Charles, we'll stay at this Courtyard, no doubt.

Room Tip: Calhoun and Meeting streets are bigger, busier--take a room on a higher floor. We were on the 5th a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.