We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful two hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The History of Charleston Walking Tour

The History of Charleston Walking Tour
200 East Bay St., Charleston, SC 29401
+1 843-224-3962
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join a 13th generation Middleton, for a personalized local perspective. End the tour in a private garden with refreshments. Walk with a local who grew up romping the streets of the downtown peninsula. The history of the city will come alive through the bricks and mortar still standing.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful two hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was a sunny, hot, humid day, but Anne made it well worth our time. Anne is the 13th generation of a Charleston family and has so much knowledge of the city as she has lived there all of her life. She keeps you moving and is so energetic and enthusiastic about her home town that it is contagious. Learned so much history and saw such interesting sites that I definitely want to go back and explore more on my own. Ended in her family's garden for lemonade and was just a perfect finish to a delightful morning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH4you, Owner at The History of Charleston Walking Tour, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
So glad I can still entertain when the crowd is sweating. Summer in the south, not a whole lot you can do. Thanks for the kind words, and I hope you come back to our beautiful city sometime soon.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A charming and informative "insider's view" of historic Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We signed up for Anne's tour on the recommendation of our concierge at the Courtyard Marriott and we were thoroughly pleased with the experience. Anne is charming, charismatic and knowledgeable. Her tour provides a real flavor for the history of Charleston and she provides just enough historic background to put it all in context ... not just the Civil War, but even what was happening politically in England that led to the settlement of Charleston. I was very impressed with her knowledge. She even talked about the difference between bricks made in South Carolina versus those brought from England. She was familiar with the history and past uses of many of the buildings we passed on the tour, especially those in the former warehouse district. It was a real treat to have the tour led by a 13th generation Charlestonian and to hear about her family's role over the years, including during the Civil War, and to get her observations on the changes she has seen during her (young) lifetime. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anne's Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you only do one thing in Charleston this has to be it - such a personal and insightful approach, and it is very clear that she adores her home and it's history, and rightly so. We spent a long time after her tour walking some of the same streets and further afield with a much better idea and appreciation of her this wonderful place. It really is impossible to rate this experience too much - just do it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH4you, Owner at The History of Charleston Walking Tour, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It is so nice to know all my words and insights are well received. Thanks for the great review, and I hope you swing by the garden the next time you are in town.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
“What a wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a fantastic tour through Charleston's historic district. Anne is VERY knowledge about Charleston's history. She was energetic and a great storyteller. The walking tour allows you to discover alleyways and streets the carriage tours cannot offer. This was a great experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Right Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lot of walking history tours to choose from while in Charleston. There really are so many, and they aren't exactly cheap - but it is a must-do when you want to learn as much as possible in a beautiful, historic city such as Charleston. So you want to choose wisely. This was the right choice for us - Anne was warm, witty, informative, and had a clear strong voice which is key when you take a tour such as this. Sometimes it is hard to hear the tour guide when you have a large group - but she was easy to understand - Her first hand family knowledge and her references to her family's experiences and differences in each generation's experiences are what sets this tour apart. It is fascinating to hear these first hand accounts. Anne always kept us at a good pace, but conscientiously stops in the shady spots for more thorough explanations. I LOVED the little short cuts and side alleys that only a true local would know. They were beautiful and a cool respite from the heat. Nice to end the tour in her Family's beautiful garden for some lemonade. Such a treat and so glad we chose Anne's tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMH4you, Owner at The History of Charleston Walking Tour, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
So glad you came along. The alleyways are the key to a hot day in town. Hope you come back to Charleston sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History of Charleston Walking Tour also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The History of Charleston Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The History of Charleston Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.