We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Bears!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Place

Mac's Place
215 East Bay St, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 793-4653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go Bears!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in town during football season and, being Chicago Bears fans, we wanted to find a place to watch the Bears game... MAC'S PLACE ROCKED!!!! Get there early to get a spot on game day... there are comfy big leather couches up front as well as the regular tables, booths, and bar seating, but everybody had a Bears jersey/shirt on... even the waitresses! Loved the atmosphere - GO BEARS! :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Guinness stew - worth stopping in for!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

It's worth calling in here for a
beer and the Guinness
Stew. The stew is delicious. The service was good. Could
I just suggest trying to clean the tile floor so the flip flops don't stick to it - weird feeling!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stopped in here for lunch. The food was your average bar food nothing special. They did have some beer specials while we were there. The service was not very good. There was not very many people in there and our waitress kept disappearing. Oh well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Nice Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Mac’s Place is an Irish themed Pub. We stopped in here on a Thursday afternoon to have lunch and to watch some ACC basketball.

We had no trouble getting a seat. We ordered a salad with buffalo chicken and a made to order burger with mushrooms and Swiss cheese. The beer was cold and the food matched up well.

Service was very good.

It's a pub and pub food, but is really quite good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere...good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stopped in our first day....greeted by Heather...nice personable waitress and very attentive. The food was great. Menu has sandwiches and appetizers. Cheese stuffed pretzel($3.99 or 2 for $6.99)and the Irish nachos were favorites. Best margaritas we found($5.50) We stopped in several other times during our stay. Sports bar atmosphere with several tv's going. All age groups.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mac's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.