We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil War Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Charleston Walks

The Original Charleston Walks
45 South Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Original Charleston WalksTM feature's the city's most diverse selection of thematic walking tours. Our walking tours last approximately two hours and the distance covered is usually less than one mile at an easy stop-and-go pace. We offer the greatest variety of routes, historical themes, utter historical accuracy, and the most outstanding guides in Charleston. Our staff of friendly, professional tour guides account for more years of total experience than any other walking tour company in the city. Indeed, to tour with The Original Charleston WalksTM is to experience Charleston with the best in the business - guaranteed!
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Civil War Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked a Civil War tour and when we arrived to meet our guide, Andrea, we were thrilled to discover - we were the only people on the tour -- another group had cancelled! Some tour companies would have rescheduled our small group but not The Original Charleston Walks! Andrea was amazing. She was SOOOO knowledgeable and friendly. She was able to answer all of our questions and even gave us information about architecture and other events in Charleston outside the Civil War. She was great about finding shady places to stop and making sure we didn't have any questions. We LOVED our tour and will absolutely use Original Charleston Walks again when we return.

Visited June 2014
1 Thank thequeenb615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Andrea, our guide, was a native Charlestonian. Very knowledgeable and gracious. We did the homes tour, and she did a great job of teaching all about Charleston. I love architecture, and my husband likes a good story, and she made us both very happy.

Visited February 2013
1 Thank travelhappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not very scary... group size way too large for a walking tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our group was way too large for a walking tour in dowtown Charleston... in fact, the group of 28-30 had to be split between the owner and Mike... which made it less personal and seemed more of a square filler. For $18 per person on a walking tour you would expect to have more personal attention... maybe a group limited to 8 should be the standard. Also, the online website talks about walking through a cemetery and getting a first hand look at the locations of encounters... but the closest we ever came to the three cemeteries visited were the outer gates (which were locked). Only good part was that the tour guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable about the ghost stories and provided insight of the "probable" reasons behind the ghostly encounters he discussed at each stop. I would say that Mike's expertise was offset by the large group... making it not really an enjoyable experience. Unless they get a handle on the group sizes I would not recommend this tour.

Visited December 2012
Thank LeeFamUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Denny Stiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Probably the best 2 hour walking tour of Charleston around. Denny is a wealth of nonstop information that gives you the history and the beauty of this historic city in an interesting and colorful easy delivery. From back yards, side areas we ended at the charming and historic Edmondston-Alston House on the bay with a view of Ft. Sumpter. Would have taken his Ghost and Civil war tours if we had the time. Highly recommend Denny for a tour guide.

Visited May 2012
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose California USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 great homes with Andrea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our foursome had a one day excursion to Charleston in April, so we booked the 3-home tour with Original Charleston Walks. We had a very fun and personalized tour with Andrea, visiting the Thomas Elfe House, the Nathaniel Russell House and finally the Edmonston-Alston House. Andrea did a superb job of interweaving the City's history with local anecdotes. She is delightful and brings loads of southern charm. Andrea would pass us off to the local docents at every house, and we were the only ones in each house tour group. Once done, we were passed back to Andrea for walking to the next house. This gave us an immense amount of information and history from different perspectives on a very personalized level. Well done! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Thank KLM-Assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Charleston Walks also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina

Been to The Original Charleston Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing