We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taco Spot

The Taco Spot
1301 B Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29407
843-225-7426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 759 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Locally owned & operated by Johnson & Wales graduate Jason C. Vaughan ('96) & Dallas, Texas native Lindsey Collier. We prepare our menu daily in house using local & sustainable ingredients with no artificial flavors or preservatives. We have vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stop in at the Taco Spot whenever I am in Charleston. They have great quality food at a great price. I usually am weird about Taco places run by white guys, but this place doesn't hurt for authenticity.I'd eat there again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best tacos EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Who would have known this little place had amazing food! It is a hole-in-the-wall kind of place but the food is some of the best I have ever had. If you like spicy salsa you will love this place!!! I think I will go back to Charleston just to eat here again. Go there you wont regret it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is incredibly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The food is incredibly good. Resturant is very good. Service was fairly good as well. Great food for the price as well. Will go back !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theTacoSpot, Owner at The Taco Spot, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome reviews! We love to hear you enjoyed your experience and really appreciate your business. Thanks again, Sincerely, Jason C. Vaughan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Drayton Hall and decided to grab a bite. We are glad we did. Authentic taste and good quality.
FYI... Order and pay as you go in, even if dining there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theTacoSpot, Owner at The Taco Spot, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hey Sjhood13, thank you so much for your review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Taco Spot. We love Drayton Hall and all the plantations, so we were especially excited to read your review knowing how many folks head out to the historic plantations, we're thrilled to be getting some of that traffic! Thanks again, Sincerely, Jason C. Vaughan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A sweet little treasure for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My first time to The Charleston area I absolutely love this little hidden treasure....it was GREAT! I would recommend it to anyone wanting a place out of the more populated areas. The food was fresh and prices were reasonable. Ooooooooooo the desert was absolutely WONDERFUL.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Taco Spot also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Taco Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taco Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.