We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot sum this place up in one sentence.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I cannot sum this place up in one sentence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our stay at the Mills House was probably on eof the best hotel experiences I have had. The service was outstanding. When you arrive you are greeted with a smile and you feel as if they actually are happy that you are staying. This feeling continues on throughout the stay. The hotel is in walking distance of just about everything that you would want to see in downtown Charleston. I just can't say enugh good things about this place. I will always stay at the Mills House when I am in Charleston!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    684
    241
    106
    42
See reviews for
470
818
64
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I love coming to Charleston for many reasons. High on the list of reasons is the Mills House Hotel. Ideally situated on Meeting Street and brimming with historical significance, this hotel is unbelievable. Don't let the Holiday Inn brand influence you, this is a 4-star hotel in every sense, from the doorman and concierge to the restaurant staff and front desk. This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere, and the fact that it happens to be in Charleston--a town that knows hospitality--makes it a must-see.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding, and the location was perfect! It is in a beautiful part of Charleston and very conveniently located for walking to restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. We valeted our car when we arrived (for $22) and didn't move it until we left.

Our room was rather small, but that is a limitation of staying in an older hotel. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The furnishings were a bit outdated, but fine. Some of the amenities that you expect at a high-end hotel were absent (bathrobes, nice toiletries, newer TV, mini-fridge), but the housekeeping was excellent and the room was fine considering we were hardly in it. It just wasn't too impressive.

The hotel lobby is very pretty, although it could be enhanced by a few small touches like fresh flowers (instead of dusty silk ones). The bellmen were not overly helpful and seemed to do the bare minimum. When we arrived, the guy offered to park the car but made no effort to help with our bags. Also, when we needed a cab later in the weekend, they simply suggested we call for one. At a nice hotel, they would do that for you. So everything seemed to fall just short of our expectations, but was still "nice enough."

The pool area is great and one of the strong suits of this hotel. Especially in the summer when it is quite hot in Charleston, it is really nice to have a pool to enjoy.

Overall, I would only stay here again if we could get a similar group rate ($179/night). Otherwise, at the normal rates, I'd say the Mills House is slightly overrated. If location is really important to you and you can live without some of the frills, you might really like this place. But if you're looking for a luxury hotel, the Mills House comes up short.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Stayed on A Wednesday night - very accommodating, didn't charge us for parking our motorcycle on the sidewalk right outside that was great. Gave us a priority club upgrade to a 7th floor suite which was very comfortable. Extremely nice room and hotel.

My minor criticism is that i had lots of trouble with the wireless internet. They have several sources but none of them seemed to last very long or the connection would just time out too quickly.

Other than that thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed during the week, for one night on Tuesday night. Not a lot of business so, since we live in Charleston and were celebrating out 42nd. anniversary, I worked the day and drove downtown arriving in the evening. We ask if we might be able to have a late checkout, since we were checking in, in the evening and the desk individual said sure, she could charge us for another half day ($75) and we could check out late the next day. I ask her how business was and she indicated slow. I can understand why.

While the room was fine and the hotel nice, good service might have made a future customer of theirs. As is, they must be hurting for money and certainly I'll have to think again before I consider their place in the off season.

Frank Smith

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Region Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Mills House in late August. We had a great time. The room was spacious, easy access to restaurants, and easy to drive to. The front desk staff were great, along with the wonderful pool and lounge area.

The drinks at the bar were a little expensive, but on par with most hotel lounges.

Charleston is a great place to visit, we ate at some great restaurants, including Magnolias. Magnolias is by far one of the best restaurants we have ever been to.

My only complaint was the bed was a little soft (but comfortable) for my liking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

After a bit of a challenge finding the hotel but with helpful directions from the front desk staff (the name Mills House is prominently displayed on the building but unfortunately I was looking for Holiday Inn!), we were happy to check in to the Mills House. The entire facility is lovely and my fourth floor room overlooking the pool was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we quite enjoyed our ability to use the hotel as a home base while we explored the city. When I return to Charleston, I will definitely stay here again. It has the feel of a small independent hotel with the benefits that being part of a chain provide.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.