We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a charming, comfortable, clean hotel and the location absolutely cannot be beat. We are also incredibly grateful that we found this hotel after having to leave our prior hotel, which was not nearly as nice or convenient as this one, when the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. We arrived at this hotel exhausted and cranky but the staff really made us feel welcomed immediately. A special shout out goes to Michael at the front desk and Ian who helped us with all of our luggage and other small requests we had. Both made us feel at home. We also really liked the decor of the room which was lovely and the lobby was elegant and inviting.

I would have given this hotel five stars but there were a few quirks. The first room we checked into had an almost deafeningly loud and unusual sound, like that of bees buzzing around. It could not be explained by the a/c system as the noise continued when I closed it. When I called the front desk we were immediately moved to another room, which turned out to also be much larger, and that was appreciated as we were three people for a few nights. Even the hotel staff acknowledged the sound coming from the first room was unusual. Our original hotel had a refrigerator, one of the reasons we had chosen it. This one did not. When I asked whether we could have one we were told yes, at no extra charge. That too was appreciated and the refrigerator was delivered quickly. What wasn't appreciated was what I found when I opened the refrigerator. It was not only dirty but it had several pieces of hair in it. Would it really have been so hard for someone to open it and clean it out before delivering it? Still, not a huge deal. Another oddity, although not necessarily a negative, was that the two beds in our room had different mattresses. One mattress was exceedingly firm, the other exceedingly soft. We found that a bit odd.

Like many hotels, this hotel has signs asking guests to help conserve water and only put the towels on the floor if new ones are wanted. That is a lovely gesture but like just about every hotel I've been too with a similar sign there are virtually no towel hooks (ok, one tiny one next to the shower and toilet) and no towel racks anywhere. So, when three people are sharing a small bathroom and have no place to put the towels other than piling them on top of one another by the sink, it becomes impossible to know whose white towel is whose. Consequently, they all end up on the "floor pile." Whoever designs hotel rooms does not think of any of these simple issues. There was plenty of room on the wall by the sink to put a rack. This is more of a general hotel complaint as it seems ubiquitous in the industry.

Finally, and perhaps this is out of the hotel's control, the guests are very, very noisy. We were there three nights, and if you are a poor sleeper, you will be awakened by guests shouting in the hallways at all hours--even at 2am. I realize that since the hotel is in the heart of downtown Charleston, people take advantage of the night life. That is fine. But when returning to the hotel and knowing full well there are guests asleep in the middle of the night why shout? Could the hotel do anything about this? Maybe not. Perhaps a notice reminding guests of the obvious: Be Courteous to Other Guests When Returning Late at Night. If you are a sound sleeper this may not bother you.

I would definitely come back to the hotel because of its location, cleanliness and Charleston-like charm and kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you after your hotel transfer. Please accept our apology for failing to deliver a clean refrigerate, as well as having a more befitting storage area in the bathroom. Because of the historical significance of our property, many modern comforts found in the presence of our counterparts is temporarily unavailable; however, our unique Charleston charm allows us to stand out from the rest! Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    678
    235
    104
    42
See reviews for
469
811
63
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The staff was quite possibly the most friendly I've ever encountered. They were extremely accommodating. We requested adjoining rooms and was given it without hesitation. It is conveniently located downtown Charleston. Pretty much everything is within walking distance. I have one complaint. The bed was not the most comfortable. However, one con vs all the pros is enough for a return stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are enthused that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly that we were apart of the reason that your stay was phenomenal! If ever, upon your return, you would like our assistance please do not hesitate to contact us. We pride ourselves on providing stellar service at all times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed midweek for a special deal with included valet and $50 resort credit for $200 per night (corner room), which when everything is factored in is a great deal for Charleston historic district.
Corner room was beautiful with good views and newly renovated bathroom which is great.
Had breakfast each morning in the courtyard which was perfect, and drinks at the bar in the evening. The bartender was very good, even made us drinks that weren't on the menu.
We were told at the beginning that our resort credit would roll over if we didn't use it which turned out not to be the case, and I was hit with extra charges at the end. However, these were reversed when I explained the situation.
Location is perfect for walking and exploring all of Charleston.
I would recommend this hotel and stay again if the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for selecting our property as one of interest during your stay while in Charleston. We especially appreciate that you valued your stay enough to consider us for future visits. Again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was very good trip. The hotel is clean. The staff is courteous. the only problem was everything closed between 11pm-12am. So if you are a night owl or wanted some food or drink late evening you would be able to get it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to having the privilege of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel gets a five star rating from me. Everything is clean, nice and modern. In the heart of downtown, this hotel has everything close by. If you can upgrade to the corner room please do, it's spacious and has lots of windows. The one thing that set this place aside from all the other hotels I have been to is that every evening someone comes by and takes out the trash, fills up your ice bucket, gives you water bottles and checks for plenty of towels. This is done whether your in the room or not and is in addition to the daily housekeeping. Thank you Wyndham and thank you Charleston for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Plenty of good restaurants close by
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
The fact that your stay was so enjoyable that you are excited about giving us a 5-star rating, further excites us! Thank you for your patronage and we know that you will be back to visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was hopeful for a fantastic stay for our Anniversary and it was ok. My first issue was that our room was not ready until almost 6:30pm. While they gave us a free drink coupon for 2 well drinks in the bar, really all I wanted was a little down time before dinner, which never happened. (Check in time is 4pm and we had gotten there at 1pm where we supposedly were at the top of the queue for getting a room... ). The room itself was nice, had a good view, was comfortable and clean. the shower head was made for people who must be pretty short... but then again it's an older hotel. ;) Also make sure to check your receipt we were charged for valet even through we did not. They were quick to reverse it though.

The location itself was fantastic with Husk and Poogan's Porch right next door.

Room Tip: The King Corner Room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonce M, Front Office Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for choosing our property to celebrate your anniversary. Congratulations on achieving that milestone and we hope that we are able to again share in this joyous occasion next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.