We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed a long weekend. Location is great . We walked and took the trolley. There are many great little restaurants within walking distance along with shops, harbor , and mansions. Lobby was nice. All staff we had contact with were helpful and friendly. Rooms were just okay. Clean but in need of update. No safe or refrigerator available.
The price was higher than I normally spend but again location. Would I stay again? Yes

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. Your comments in regard to our friendly staff have been shared with our Service Professionals. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel does have a great location and rich in history. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Historic Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    630
    214
    97
    39
See reviews for
429
759
61
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent nights at Mills House Hotel in April and we couldn't have asked for more; decent rate, nice, clean, comfortable hotel, great facilities, although the parking was expensive it was very close. The nice, sunny courtyard was a lovely place to have an early evening drink. The room (decor and bathroom) and some of the hotel could have done with some updating, although a fellow guest told us that was being planned. I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are pleased that you stayed at the Mills House Wyndham Grand on your recent visit to Charleston. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our Service Professionals. I agree, the courtyard area is a great place for an evening drink. Thanks again for your review and hope you will visit again soon.

Best Regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel staff was excellent, but there is no way this room was worth 348 dollars per night.
I understand it is an older building, but the bathroom was ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel. Your comments in regard to our excellent staff will be shared with our Service Professionals. We have several different size bathrooms and you obviously had a smaller one. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Historic Charleston.

Regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location at lower end of Meeting Street. All of downtown Charleston within easy walking distance. A hotel with character furnished in period style. Bedroom quiet and on the small side but perfectly adequate with very comfortable bed. Nice outdoor pool. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review of the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel. We do have a great location within walking distance to Charleston's History. Your comments about our friendly staff will be shared with our Service Professionals.

Thanks Again!

John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely old hotel, nicely renovated. Loved the outdoor spaces -- patio attached to the room, pool area and outdoor bar/dining courtyard. Attentive, good service. Ideal location. Rom was small, but adequate in terms of size. Bathroom and room were nice, but could use some new paint and touch up.

Would appreciate courtesy coffee at the bar in the morning -- it was avialable, at $2.50/cup. In-room coffee maker, but coffee downstairs would be nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. Your comments in reference to our outdoor spaces, location and attentive good service are appreciated. We attempt to make our Coffee Bar reasonably priced in comparison to other Coffee Bars. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Historic Charleston.

Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.