We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Downtown Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great location at lower end of Meeting Street. All of downtown Charleston within easy walking distance. A hotel with character furnished in period style. Bedroom quiet and on the small side but perfectly adequate with very comfortable bed. Nice outdoor pool. Staff friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It was a pleasure reading your review of the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel. We do have a great location within walking distance to Charleston's History. Your comments about our friendly staff will be shared with our Service Professionals.

Thanks Again!

John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    684
    241
    105
    42
See reviews for
470
817
64
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely old hotel, nicely renovated. Loved the outdoor spaces -- patio attached to the room, pool area and outdoor bar/dining courtyard. Attentive, good service. Ideal location. Rom was small, but adequate in terms of size. Bathroom and room were nice, but could use some new paint and touch up.

Would appreciate courtesy coffee at the bar in the morning -- it was avialable, at $2.50/cup. In-room coffee maker, but coffee downstairs would be nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor Review. Your comments in reference to our outdoor spaces, location and attentive good service are appreciated. We attempt to make our Coffee Bar reasonably priced in comparison to other Coffee Bars. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Historic Charleston.

Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lawn
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Service was very good. Hardwear in bath room needs repair. No surface to sit shaving kit on in bath.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Glen,
We appreciate your TripAdvisor posting for the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel. Your comments in regard to our very good service were appreciated. I apologize that your expectations of your bath room were not met. You can be assured that the issues in your bath room are being corrected. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Historic Charleston.

Best Regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Mills house is absolutely wonderful!! I traveled here for a bachelorette party with about 8 other girls and the staff was excellent in recommending places to go, directions, calling for transportation. I left some nice earrings in my room and the hotel mailed them to me right away.
The rooms are beautiful and spacious and the location is perfect for tourists. I will definitely stay here again for future Charleston trips!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Cin22,
I would like to thank you for your superior review. It is great to hear that your earrings were promptly returned from our lost and found department. Your comments in regard to our staff, location, and the fact that you will return is important to our entire staff. Thanks again and hope you will stay at the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.