We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but passed the hotel many times and thought it was delightful. We went in and had lunch at the restaurant. Very enjoyable and staff helpful. We want to go back and stay. BTW, the holiday decorations in the lobby were beautiful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FrancesDecatur,
Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I have passed along your kind remarks to the restaurant service professionals. It is our hope that you will consider us for accommodations also on your next visit to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    684
    241
    106
    42
See reviews for
470
818
64
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Higganum, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first day was fine, great help with check in, valet and concierge...second day not so much.. they did not clean our room, valet no where to be found when we went to retrieve our keys (we did call ahead) and drop off car... third strike was the front desk manager told me to book my room on line when I wanted to extend my stay for a difference of $7.00... was so sarcastic we went to another hotel and bad attitude. Lots of talk of them getting bought out to customers not sure I care about their work problems was there to enjoy and relax...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear lizzmilardo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken your remarks seriously and have followed up on them. It is our sincere hope that you will consider the Mills House for future visits to Historic Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here with a group of friends, and we found the hotel charming and the staff friendly and eager to please. The location is good, too. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard, and--unfortunately--weather didn't permit our making use of it, but it would be lovely on most South Carolina days. The hotel is also within walking distance of several good restaurants. I think it was a very good value for the convenience and ambience of downton Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear StarwoodJunkie
Thank you for your review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks about the staff have been passed on to our Service Professionals.
We hope that you will consider our hotel for any future visits to Historic Charleston.
Wishing you a pleasant week!
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place!! It was beautiful, clean, no funky odors, attentive staff...and the location was perfect!! The con was the parking...ugh. But the valets were speedy and for the most part, cordial. The bed was comfy, it wasn't noisy, and the elevators were fast. Lucie in the bar was a delight and tons of fun. She recommended several places to check out and all were great. We would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear COmomma74,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks are much appreciated. We try to exceed each guest's expectations and in your case we are pleased that we did indeed accomplish our goal. I will pass along your compliments to Lucie also.
We hope that you will consider us for your future accommodations should you visit Charleston again.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The good :Great staff..beautiful facility for wedding reception. I would definitely go back when I return to Charleston. The bad: water pressure in the shower is non existent..had to move coffee pot because one of the outlets didn't work. That being said bed was comfortable room was clean great value for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear accfsi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind remarks and have taken your comments on the maintenance issues seriously and have discussed them with the staff. It is our sincere hope that you will consider us for your accommodations on upcoming visits to Charleston.
Regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just had 2 days here. What a beautiful little place. Beautiful courtyard, gorgeous bar, very nice restaurant. Room was pretty small but nice. Know that there is no counter space in the bathroom. One standing sink with no counter. The location is ideal. We walked everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear luvacationing,
Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time from your busy day to post a review on TripAdvisor. I have passed your kind feedback along to all of our Service Professionals. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your 2 day stay with us.
It is our hope that you will consider our hotel for any future trips to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice but as we got our room through priceline I think they assigned us to one very old not that nice room. Its was a little dirty, old carpet and the bathroom tub didn't drain.. Location is very good! Parking $20 per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear DraKanka
Please accept my sincere thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed it with the staff.
Thank you again,
John Edwards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.