We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Higganum, Connecticut
1 review
“Service could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our first day was fine, great help with check in, valet and concierge...second day not so much.. they did not clean our room, valet no where to be found when we went to retrieve our keys (we did call ahead) and drop off car... third strike was the front desk manager told me to book my room on line when I wanted to extend my stay for a difference of $7.00... was so sarcastic we went to another hotel and bad attitude. Lots of talk of them getting bought out to customers not sure I care about their work problems was there to enjoy and relax...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear lizzmilardo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken your remarks seriously and have followed up on them. It is our sincere hope that you will consider the Mills House for future visits to Historic Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    626
    214
    97
    39
See reviews for
429
755
61
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here with a group of friends, and we found the hotel charming and the staff friendly and eager to please. The location is good, too. The hotel has a beautiful courtyard, and--unfortunately--weather didn't permit our making use of it, but it would be lovely on most South Carolina days. The hotel is also within walking distance of several good restaurants. I think it was a very good value for the convenience and ambience of downton Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear StarwoodJunkie
Thank you for your review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks about the staff have been passed on to our Service Professionals.
We hope that you will consider our hotel for any future visits to Historic Charleston.
Wishing you a pleasant week!
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We loved this place!! It was beautiful, clean, no funky odors, attentive staff...and the location was perfect!! The con was the parking...ugh. But the valets were speedy and for the most part, cordial. The bed was comfy, it wasn't noisy, and the elevators were fast. Lucie in the bar was a delight and tons of fun. She recommended several places to check out and all were great. We would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear COmomma74,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks are much appreciated. We try to exceed each guest's expectations and in your case we are pleased that we did indeed accomplish our goal. I will pass along your compliments to Lucie also.
We hope that you will consider us for your future accommodations should you visit Charleston again.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The good :Great staff..beautiful facility for wedding reception. I would definitely go back when I return to Charleston. The bad: water pressure in the shower is non existent..had to move coffee pot because one of the outlets didn't work. That being said bed was comfortable room was clean great value for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear accfsi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind remarks and have taken your comments on the maintenance issues seriously and have discussed them with the staff. It is our sincere hope that you will consider us for your accommodations on upcoming visits to Charleston.
Regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just had 2 days here. What a beautiful little place. Beautiful courtyard, gorgeous bar, very nice restaurant. Room was pretty small but nice. Know that there is no counter space in the bathroom. One standing sink with no counter. The location is ideal. We walked everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear luvacationing,
Please accept my sincere thanks for taking the time from your busy day to post a review on TripAdvisor. I have passed your kind feedback along to all of our Service Professionals. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your 2 day stay with us.
It is our hope that you will consider our hotel for any future trips to Charleston.
Warmest regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice but as we got our room through priceline I think they assigned us to one very old not that nice room. Its was a little dirty, old carpet and the bathroom tub didn't drain.. Location is very good! Parking $20 per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear DraKanka
Please accept my sincere thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and have discussed it with the staff.
Thank you again,
John Edwards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a five day Roadscholar trip to Charleston over New Years, we were housed at this hotel. Unfortunately while the hotel, room and breakfast were quite good, the dinners were disgusting, service for 45 people was 2 servers literally running about the room, with wretched food. The nadir was Shrimp with Grits with exactly two tiny shrimp. Several of us went out to dinner.
Furthermore, they were totally unable to accommodate my spouse's request for a vegetarian oil free meal; the second night, she never got a dinner at all.
The portions were tiny and the menu rather disgusting.

Room Tip: Don't sign up with Roadscholar/Elderhostel if they use this hotel for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Tamalpals101
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit to The Mills House. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and have discussed it thoroughly with the staff.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager More
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.