We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Very Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location Very Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is central to many of the sites that you would want to see and it is located near the free trolley to get to the rest. The building is charming and historic and the staff is friendly and warm. The rooms are nice and the restaurant service is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sandra B
Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your kind remarks on our service are greatly appreciated. I will pass along your comments to all of our Service Professionals. It is our hope that you will consider The Mills House for future visits to Charleston.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    585
    203
    90
    36
See reviews for
401
696
57
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is located on Meeting Street in the heart of historic Charleston. It is a gorgeous property with majestic interior features and furnishings. The guest rooms are a nice size. Large enough for a king bed, a roll away for our son and still space to maneuver. Being a historic building - the bathrooms are tiny. Your coat closet is bigger - but that is to be expected.
Plan to pay $25/day for valet parking.

Room Tip: The hotel is said to be haunted. We didn't encounter any ghosts, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear trentsgal,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you on your recent visit to Charleston. I will pass along your kind comments about the hotel to all of our Service Professionals.
We hope that you will consider The Mills House for future visits to Historic Charleston.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We take day trips to Charleston several times a year and usually once a year we spend a night or two. The Mills House is resonably priced and a great location for shopping and sightseeing. We have stayed there four times. The lobby is lovely and the staff are very helpful. When we checked in we received a coupon for complimentary drinks in their bar/lounge. They have comfortable seating which is appreciated after walking around Charleston for a few hours! There is also a restaurant that has good food. This visit I used the treadmill in the work out room and enjoyed the exercise after having had a great anniversary dinner the night before! The rooms are nicely appointed, but the room we had this time could use a coat of paint and touch up on some of the furniture. There is convenient parking in the parking garage next door with a "bridge" to the hotel. For the money, this is a great place to stay in Charleston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear LALTraveler
Thank you for your recent review of The Mills House Hotel. Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated. We will pass them along to our staff. Here's wishing you a happy and healthy new year! We would appreciate your considering our hotel for future visits to our great city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Let me start with the pluses. The location is great. You can easily walk to the market, the galleries, famous old houses, good resaurants and the water. The overall service was very good, and the public rooms were inviting. The rooms featured comfortable beds and a pair of upholstered straight-back chairs. There was room for our clothes and for our suitcases. The bathroom was small and the amenities very basic but sufficient. The small shower offered abundant hot water. We had buffet breakfast in the Barbados Room and found it adequet; the "hot food" was not very warm, but the freshly prepared omelets were excellent. The staff was helpful and attentive.
There was also a down-side. We were with a Roads Scholars group and were served four dinners in-house. The food was abysmal and the understaffed servers often could not get the food out or the coffee poured. We found good food at Elii's Table just down the street. Our first room was on the sixth floor facing Queen Street. We had to move because the vibration from the heating system made it difficult to sleep, even with earplugs. Our second room was across the hall on third floor. This room was sunnier and quieter - except for the construction below our windows during the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear David L
We would like to thank you for your TripAdvisor review. All of your comments, both good and constructive have been reviewed with our staff. It is our goal to provide Four Star service.
Regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Room and hallways were a little worn. Bed was comfortable. Overall clean. Check in was not very helpful or friendly. Concierge was, however. I just let the valet park my car so I would not have to worry about it. It wasn't too expensive and I never needed my car since we could walk everywhere. Easy walk to the market and all around the harbor. Poogan's Porch and 82 Queen restaurants are right next door and are both fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear klever7
Please accept my thanks for your TripAdvisor review of The Mills House Hotel. I have discussed your comments with the staff and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. It is our hope that you will consider us for your lodging needs on future trips to Charleston.
Regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location is prime here! Just a few short blocks from Market street and in between Meeting St. and King Street. I recently stayed here just for one night and used our Priority club points. The price wouldn't have been that bad if we didn't use our points.

They ended up putting us on the 7th floor where the view was great and the rooms were very clean. They even through in 2 free drink coups at the bar. The service was something that I noticed was especially good (not just at the desk when we checked in with priority club status).

I would absolutely recommend the hotel as it has a very nice interior and the rooms were clean. I would second the opinion of the '3 star at best' review stating that the bathrooms are pretty tiny, but the rooms were good sized.

We wondered out of the hotel for meals, but the dining room looked very nice and the bar/lounge was comfy and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Nick M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As a valuable Priority Club member it was our pleasure to upgrade you to our 7th floor and include drink coupons. Your comments have been reviewed with our staff. It is our hope that you will consider The Mills House for future visits to Charleston.
Regards,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Mills House is a classic older hotel. The rooms are cozy and warm - very romantic. The staff took care of all concerns - especially the valet parking.

Probably the only regret was the buffet breakfast - definitely not worth the expense.

The hotel is not cheap - but definitely worth the cost if you're trying to impress your spouse or loved one - at least for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Barry G
Thank you for your review of The Mills House on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with the staff, especially the bellstaff. It is my sincere hope that you will consider us for future visits to Charleston.
Warm regards
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.