We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sweet Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Sweet Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here at the suggestion of a colleague. I slowly started to give up on some hotels in Charleston b/c of various issues. But this inn was charming. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only suggestions would be to get rid of the fabric canopies over the bed. A great place for dust. Also get rid of the bed spreads. A nice white duvet would be great. The hotel restaurant is rarely crowded. Mainly b/c this town had loads of great restaurants. Also, the Wi-Fi isn't the best.Parking is another issue. As per usual, it's cheaper to go with the valet. If you opt to self-park, you'll be charged every time you enter and leave the parking deck. You're also adjacent to shopping-hub King Street and the much-hyped restaurant Husk. 82 Queen is a few steps away and is a good restaurants.
I like this inn and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lilyn1
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mills House on TripAdvisor. Your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel are much appreciated. Also we have noted your comments on the canopies and the bedspreads. We really appreciate your remarks about the staff and I will pass those on to our service professionals. Again please accept my thanks for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us on future visits to our historic city.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    630
    214
    97
    39
See reviews for
430
759
61
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is all about "historical" and location. It is located in a very desireable area for the historical district and shopping. The hotel itself is a historical building. The staff are helpful and kind. From a comfort standpoint the hotel is "old style" with very small bathrooms. Most women will not like this bathroom due to the size.

Travellers must make a decision whether to pick this hotel for the location and to stay in a historic building or pick a more modern and comfortable hotel. We are glad we stayed there, but when we come back to Charleston the next time we will likely stay in a more modern hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect a normal hotel room size bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear erparadise,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals.
Sincerely,
John Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely hotel and excellent service from staff particularly Althea Singleton at breakfast. Good location with easy walk to local restaurants and bars and shopping . I really appreciated being able to check in early 11.00am . Although the hotel was reasonably expensive it represented good value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Chris P,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals, especially Althea. We hope you will consider our hotel for future visits to our historic city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a most excellent stay at this historic property. We were attending a conference so we had breakfast each morning and even dinner there. The bar downstairs is the perfect spot for a nightcap. The location of this property CANNOT be beat. What a perfect location to see Charleston. This will be our home base from now on while in the city. It is worth the price.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very peaceful. The meeting rooms are on the 2nd floor so it migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear ekb0828,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you had an excellent stay with us. We are also glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our dining room and courtyard. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals. We look forward to your staying with us on future visits to our historic city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location in downtown Charleston. East walking to all the sights without a lot of city noise. The rooms were nothing special, but comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly (especially the bar staff and doormen). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear kpiter01,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals. We are especially pleased that you will consider our hotel for future visits to our historic city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. This is a historic building, and the lobby lends to the sense of "oldness." It's nicely appointed and very clean. Hotel staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. The Barbadoes Room restaurant served solid fare, although I only had dishes served up during business functions. The bar was cozy, and the specialty cocktails and bartenders were excellent. The fitness center was small but had the essential equipment. My room on the 3rd floor had excellent wireless reception. The hotel is a quick walk to Bay St and lots of other places to eat and drink.

The rooms are serviceable and clean. All the furniture and beds were in very good shape, and the big screen TV was very nice. My only criticism is that if you look beyond the obvious, there are some areas for improvement. The hallway carpets are getting a bit soiled, especially in the doorways to each room. There are hundreds of dirty fingerprints along the inside edge of the door into the room. The walls are a bit marked up, and the bathtub area is starting to show a little mildew.

Overall, this was a very pleasant and restful stay. But some of those little things need a little attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear MDTraveler57,
Please accept my sincere thanks for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Your very positive review is much appreciated. Your remarks on condition issues are appreciated and will be addressed. I will also pass along your great comments on service to our service professionals. Thank you again and we hope you will consider the Mills House for your lodging needs on future visits to Charleston.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I spent several days at the Mills house in Charleston. It is in a geat location where you can walk most anywhere. The trolley system is easily accessed to go to the marina etc. The city's history is wonderful and all the great restaurants are again within walking distance of only several blocks. The rooms and service at the hotel are great! The people were all very friendly and helpful with our many questions. We loved the Southern Hospitality. Can't wait to go back to relax!

Room Tip: Try to get a room located on the other side of Queens street. Garbage truck wake up calls on Monday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, General Manager at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Bustravels1,
Please accept our sincere thanks for taking the time to review The Mills House Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your remarks to our service professionals. We hope you will consider our hotel for future visits to our historic city.
Warmest regards,
John Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.