We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My mom and I just got back from a stay at the Mills House I loved it. My room was very nice I reserved a room with 2 queen beds overlooking the pool patio area. Check in was a breeze it was a little tricky finding somewhere to pull up went around the block a spot opened up. I was greeted right away by a bellman asking if I needed help. The lobby was gorgeous very nice short wait for check in I unloaded checked out the room did the usual inspection as I work in hotels so I know where to check and what to check. Everything was clean clean clean no stains anywhere no evidence of any little friends. I had heard the bathrooms were small but it was nothing that would upset my stay. I thought it was fine. I loved the fact that I had a patio door that opened right up to a patio that is right by the pool. They had tables and chairs and loungers right outside my room perfect spot to just relax. Beds were comfortable and when we checked in there was chocolates by the pillow with a note card from the GM very nice touch. I loved that the hotel was pink my favorite color. I loved the location very close to the market and King St. We were in the mood for something sweet around 11pm and looked up and saw a place right by the market was open late a quick walk. I parked in the parking garage on Queen St which is nice there is a walkway on the 4th floor connected right to the hotel right to the pool deck very easy access to get to my car. I left it there after checkout to do some more shopping. I would recommend this hotel for everyone I got a great rate through Walmart Associate disc program. I will stay again with my Husband next time for sure.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room overlooking the pool and one with a balcony or level with the pool patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    684
    241
    106
    42
See reviews for
470
818
64
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Mills House Hotel is conveniently located for walking through the historic areas of Charleston, King Street, and College of Charleston. The rooms are nice and relatively clean. The prices were higher than many resorts in the Caribbean, perhaps because we made the mistake of coming during a PGA tournament. The parking is relatively expensive at $24 per day plus tips to get the car in & out for drives to the beach. Given the price, especially for a Saturday night, I was quite shocked to see plastic cups everywhere, in the bathrooms and even by the drinks in the lobby. The pool was nice, with hand towels for beach towels. Be prepared for noise, with bells ringing when the elevator opens, and early-morning food delivery drucks idling loudly outside of the rooms. The concierge was very helpful, friendly and energetic.

Room Tip: Don't take a room by the elevator. And, try to avoid getting a room that is near the food deliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Millshouse for a couple of nights for our 16th wedding anniversary. Upon checking in a very nice young lady by the name of Emily waited on us. I asked if I could get a room with a view other than of the alley way because I really wanted our trip to be special. She said yes maam I will get you a good one. Well she not only got us a great view but she put us up on the 7th floor! It was wonderful, we could see the water from both windows and many historic sites as well. Our room was very spacious and it was so quiet up there we werent disturbed by any slamming doors or anything. WE LOVED IT! I had been to the Millshouse prior to this trip for business but knew I wanted to bring my husband back so he could see how beautiful it was. We will definitely be staying here again! It is close to everything and we walked everywhere and never once got the car out of the parking garage. Thank you so much Millshouse Hotel and Emily for making our stay a truly memorable one! Ohhh and the complimentary lemonade in the lobby on a hot Summer day was wonderful as well. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know that is planning a trip to Charleston!

Sincerely,
The McKinneys
Johnston, SC

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everybody loves a bargain. We got a great rate on a midweek stay, which simply added to our overall enjoyment of this property.

Parking is a bit tricky. Pull up to the front of the hotel and leave your car along the curb for valet parking...$24/day with in/out privileges. Turn on Queen St immediately before the hotel and park in a municipal garage for $20/day (no in/out). There is a pedestrian ramp from the garage directly to the hotel, which makes this very convenient. Charleston is an extremely walkable city, so you probably won't need to move your car. Unless you really think you will need in/out privileges, I would opt for the city garage over valet.

Our room was very large (@250 ft sq) with large bathroom. The closet was a bit small and oddly set within the bathroom. We had a functional desk, a comfortable sofa, a working refrig and a king bed.

There is a nice outdoor pool and adjacent patio area. A central courtyard off the hotel restaurant was a beautiful spot for breakfast or late drinks. Meeting rooms are fine for smaller groups, i.e., <100. Larger groups would be hard pressed to use this property.

There are so many things within walking distance that I won't even begin to hit them all. You can easily walk to the Battery, the Market, great shopping along King St., shops and galleries of all kinds around every corner.

There are many wonderful places to stay in Charleston and I would put Mills House well up on the list.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of hotel may have noise from nearby dumpster in the early morning. Rooms along Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having once lived in Charleston and knowing the Mills House Hotel then as a beautifully restored post Civil War grande dame of hotels, it is hard to imagine how it fell into the hands of Holiday Inn.

The building and its accoutrements are still reasonably preserved but no longer does it shine as it once did. From the front desk ‘commercial’ approach to service to the subtle deterioration of décor and up keep, the hotel is in need of TLC. It is not getting it and is obviously living off the efforts of previous managements.

A must see in Charleston but maybe not the must do it once was. In a nutshell, well located but over priced with better alternatives for the $ available. Nice place for lunch.

Room Tip: Since many rooms with different exposures to streets, may want to preview room prior to check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I loved this little hotel!!

Check-in was easy and the lobby was beautifully appointed - bright, spacious and Old-World feeling. Fresh, huge, beautiful floral arrangement were everywhere!

The room was small, I admit, but the king-sized bed was adorned with drapes, super comfortable and we had a great view of the street. There wasn't too much room for our suitcases but we made the best of it. The bathroom was well-appointed but a traditional Holiday-Inn type bath - nothing unique or fancy - but surely practical, clean and working!

Free wi-fi, coffee-maker, in-room safe pretty much rounds-out this room. We didn't spend much time here so it was okay.

There is a roof-top pool which we enjoyed but wish had been heated. From here we could see a courtyard below to have a snack but we did not visit.

This hotel is in a great location to go walking all over! We went to the main shopping area (found an Apple Store), took the free trolley to the harbourfront, the Historic City Market. We even had a birthday dinner at the excellent upscale restaurant Grill 225.

Recommend wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Downtown Charleston hotel, walking distance to great restrauants, beautiful hotel with old time character. Our room was small but had drapes over the beds creating the old fashion look, 3 steps down to the bathroom and exit. The bathroom door needed some fixing, very difficult to close. Door to patio overlooking the pool, kept private with curtains on either side of the chairs. Foyer had a beautiful chandelier and the double staircase and hall had been decorated in period fashion. This is a Holiday Inn hotel, but you wouldn't know it. Very Nice!

Room Tip: In room coffee maker, $2.00 for coffee downstairs. Stairs in our room might be a problem for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.