We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable superb first class accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
DeSoto, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unbelievable superb first class accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This trip was booked for my mother as a gift for her 60th wedding anniversary from my father and he was not able to go with her so I went in his place.

This hotel is 100% first class in every direction from checking in to room service. One of the best restaurants in Charleston is there, the Palmetto Cafe. The food is superb!

We had a one bedroom suite which was beyond belief. It was appointed with period furniture and toile draperies. The bathroom had a soaking tub and shower. There was also an area in the bath for suitcase unpacking and a safe.

I would stay here again anytime. This is the most luxurious hotel ever!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at Charleston Place. I'm pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    365
    182
    81
    46
See reviews for
351
803
49
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

From check in to check out there wasn’t anything too small that she staff wouldn’t tend to in order to make our vacation as wonderful as possible. Everyone from valets to housekeeping was friendly and polite. The hotel was quiet for our stay. We were spoiled and catered to every moment we were in the hotel. Rick, the concierge, was actually ending his day. However, he took extra time to secure a last minute reservation for us at a steak house. It turned out to be one of the best restaurants we’ve visited. My spouse is fairly demanding when it comes to customer service. This hotel’s staff exceeded his expectations. He loved every minute of it. Also the location is ideal. It is located in the heart of the city's shopping, dining, and sight seeing. When we go back, we’re staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

A few weeks ago, when we were visiting Charleston, my daughter tripped on the sidewalk and injured her foot. We managed to walk to Charleston Place where I was able to obtain ice for her foot and have her rest in the lobby while we tried to decide what to do.

We were amazed at the caring response we received from the hotel staff. The concierge called the on-call doctor so that we could describe the injuries and see if she needed to go to the hospital. When we decided that she should have it x-rayed, they drove us to a medical facility. What an amazing place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOM
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I cant find any faults with this hotel it is 10/10 perfection, and Charleston is one of the best places we have ever visited and did not want to leave after our 4 days.
The hotels location is well situated to shops and many restaurants. Staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. We stayed on the club level (room 815) which was worth the additional expense. Maid service excellent, plus turndown service nightly. Previous comments have addressed the noise from adjacent rooms and outside, being noise sensitive people ourselves we were a little concerned. But on a scale of 1-10 it scored 2 and the noise was from movement in the corridors. There are 6 elevators only once did we encounter a luggage trolley in the lift which to us was not a problem. The spa is expensive but pleasurable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Charleston Place is a class act. From check in to check out the staff was great to deal with. I had a group coming in for a small meeting in May and in June. Very convenient across from the City Market and near many shops and restaurants. Sales/Catering staff were exceptional. Hotel was very clean and well-appointed. I will go back to Charleston (in cooler weather) and will absolutely use Charleston Place again. The ease of doing business with this hotel made my job so much easier.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My twin sister travelled from South Yorkshire , England and treated my husband , son daughter and myself to a weeks vacation at the Hotel in celebration of our 65th birthday which was on April 30th.We had ajoining rooms on the Club Floor.The accomodation, food and the generosity of the management saw that our special day was nothing but the best.
Having been in the catering business all of my life [now retired] the quality of the food and presentation was second to none.The cleanliness and general appearance of the Hotel deserves 5 stars.
Besides all of this historic Charleston is heaven on earth.Fortunately we live in Charlotte, NC so do not have that far to travel .We have a lot to be thankful for living in the Carolinas.
Have a great day .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had a great 3-night stay at Charleston Place in June. From check-in to check-out service was excellent. The self-park garage is right next to the hotel and made for a convenient place to park. The hotel was located right at the market and within easy walking distance to all the sights. My wife enjoyed her facial at the massage. The pool was nice for an afternoon dip. We did not dine at the restaurants in the hotel as we chose to dine elsewhere so I can't comment on the restaurants. I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Belmond, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.