We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quality and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We just returned from our 6 day trip to Savannah and Charleston (see separate review for Springhill Suites in Savannah). Everything at this hotel is first class. Here are our pro's and con's for this hotel.

Pro:
1) Very big room. Very quiet room. We never heard the outside or other guests, even facing the street and on the second level. There is a big bathroom that comes with the all the amenities you would expect. To nit-pick, the hair dryer is weak, but gets the job done with a little extra time.
2) The concierge is very good. If you need directions to just about anywhere, they have a pre-printed card with directions to the site and back to the hotel. They also have a huge book with menus in case you are undecided for dinner.
3) LOCATION! This hotel is right smack dab in the heart of the city. Walk outside and you are on Market Street with its open air craft market and shops on either side. Walk towards the water and you are on East Bay Street with numerous restaurants. Walk out the other side and you find yourself on King Street with its high end shops. It is within a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and the cruise terminal. We walked down to the Aquarium Wharf, where we caught the ferry to Ft. Sumter, but that was about a 20 minute walk. It was a scenic walk though, and of course, the concierge had pre-printed directions to get there.

Con:
1) No WiFi. Because of the construction of the rooms, WiFi is unable to penetrate the walls for wireless access. You do have free wired access.
2) Nothing else.

This hotel has such a Southern Charm feel to it. It reminded you that you were in the South, unlike most of the "chain" hotels. I would not only recommend this hotel, but I would stay here again if I ever retruned.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    368
    182
    81
    47
See reviews for
353
807
49
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, PA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

My wife & I normally stay @ Ritz Carlton's when we travel and have been known to visit cities with a Ritz Carlton so we know what to expect in regards to service and quality. After staying at Charleston Place, we both commented That Charleston Place is nicer than most Ritz Carlton's we've visited.
There may be other nice accommodations in Charleston, but when we visit again, Charleston Place will be our choice!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is what Charleston is all about....we stayed on the top floor with the concierge service and the all day drinks & snacks....a bit more money, but completely worth it.
It is located right in the middle of downtown Charleston so the location just cannot be beat.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The next time we return to Charleston, we will certainly be staying at the Charleston Place again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Visited Charleston for a wedding and decided to stay at the Charleston Place for the weekend. Charleston is a wonderful old town and this hotel fits the locale. It is nicely upscale, with friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms. I especially enjoyed the crisp and clean linen bed sheets and the goose down comforter and pillows. I don't normally wear a robe, but the Turkish towels and robes called to me..... My family did not stay at this hotel, but all came to see my room - they especially liked the marble bathroom and the inlaid wood floor in my room's foyer.

The hotel's location was ideal, and was within walking distance to the Church and the Reception, both located in central Charleston.

Finally, I have to note that when I awoke Saturday morning and decided I wanted a cup of coffee, I asked the hotel concierge for a recommendation. Not only did he recommend a local coffee house close-by (I can't stand hotels which "recommend" the hotel's coffee), my friend who lives in Charleston *swore* the coffee house I visited was the best in the city. A nice plus to the hotel's credit, and an inestimable sign of quality service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Charleston Place is an experience in itself. The hotel is well appointed and the staff is wonderful, oozing with southern hospitality. My husband and I have been staying at Charleston Place for years and we are never disappointed in the accomodations nor in the service. The hotel is situated ideally in the heart of the historic district, within walking distance of so many sights and activities. It is truly a trip we look forward to all year long!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

If you have never stayed at Charleston Place, you need to! From the time you pull up to the beautiful hotel until the time you leave, you experience the best that this special hotel has to offer. My husband and I love to travel and Charleston is one of our favorite places to visit. Each time we go there, we make a point to stay at Charleston Place. Our first experience was so wonderful that we wondered if the hotel could duplicate that experience again. What a terrific surprise when we returned our second and third time to find the same exceptional service and catering to all hotel guests. We never get tired of walking into the beautiful lobby, restaurants and lounge. From the front door, to the front desk and the experience of entering your room, is a seamless process and conducted with a warm and welcoming attitude. Enjoy the beauty of this outstanding hotel, enjoy the fine restaurants and shopping. Most of all enjoy this special hotel called Charleston Place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

A great hotel - very nice breakfast in the restaurant.
nice pool.
terrific spa treatments.
Great location.
Helpful concierge - recommended good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.