We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2005

I stayed in a suite at the Charleston Place Hotel in October 2005. I was surprised at how spacious the suite was, and that it had been renovated only a couple of years prior. It was a truly enjoyable stay, and the complimentary wine, dip and crackers delivered by the Manager was a very nice touch.

The Charleston Grill restaurant, located in the hotel, was one of the best restaurants I have ever dined in. The food, service, and decor were superb.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    369
    182
    81
    47
See reviews for
353
807
49
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

Chose the hotel to celebrate my birthday and it was a perfect choice. The entire staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and our stay special from Beth at check-in, to Olga for room service, to the bell staff, the valet staff and Ray (bartender on the club floor). The rooms were well kept, with a pretty view and fine amenities, luxurious bedding and tastefully decorated. The dining was divine, spa and pool area were wonderful, and a fantastic selection of upscale shops near the lobby, I can't imagine a nicer hotel in the south. We will return as often as we can, again and again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

My Wife and I stayed here in August. We found this property to be substandard. When we pulled up to the hotel we were greeted by bellman on his cell phone. Our car doors were not opened for us and I had to initiate the unloading of my luggage. We were further dissappointed with the quality of the room. This hotel is worn out and it shows. In the future we will select one of the new luxury boutique hotels in the area. We thought the shopping mall and mass amounts of tourist traffic in the lobby to be indicative of a convention style hotel, not a Charleston style experience.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, September 28, 2005
As the General Manager of Charleston Place Hotel, I was disappointed to read the comments of a recent guest from Detroit, Michigan. Specifically, this reviewer called to task our guest room amenities and the quality of service from our bellstand. Neither of these complaints are complaints that we commonly hear from our guests. In fact, our most recent survey of guest comment cards showed that over 95% of our guests were very pleased with the service from our bellstand and valet staff. We are also constantly refurbishing our guest rooms to provide our guests the highest level of luxury.


We pride ourselves in achieving something few in this industry have accomplished: for nine consecutive years, our hotel has been named one of the world's best by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. This achievement would indicate that the guest who posted the negative review had an unusual experience here - and one that we would have been pleased to rectify.

I truly wish we had been informed of our shortcomings during this visitor's stay. Every member of this hotel is authorized to do whatever is necessary to make our guests feel comfortable and valued. Had we been made aware of these concerns, we are confident we could have satisfied this guest. We invite him to be in touch and give us another chance!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

Stayed there in May for 25th anniversary. Staff was warm, friendly and helpful. Great, large room....one of the tvs came upout of a table when you turned it on. Staff brought champagne and strawberries dipped in chocalate to room. Set up wonderful meal at McGrady's. Valets dropped us off in Lincoln town car at restuarant and picked us up. Wonderful place for anniversary getaway. First class hotel.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

This hotel embodies what you think of Charleston. I stayed at Charleston Place while attending a wedding held at the hotel. From the time we arrived, our entire experience was fantastic. We were allowed an early check-in without any questions asked, although we were part of the bridal party. Our room was spacious, clean and very charming. The bathroom was large and stocked with wonderful bath products. The 2 bathrobes in the armoire were a nice touch.

We had manicures and lunch by the pool. The staff in the spa and providing lunch were very friendly and helpful. They accomodated our requests without any problem.

The day of the wedding, we had 2 hospitality suites just down the hall from the main ballroom, where the reception was held. In the afternoon, we called for towels for the suite and housekeeping was there within minutes providing a stack of towels so the bridal party could freshen up. We called for beverages and hors d'ouvers at the last minute, and once again they promptly brought them to the suite.

The wedding reception was fantastic - the ballroom (the name which I cannot remember) was beautiful and the waitstaff was very attentive, polite and served approx 20 tables efficiently. The food was wonderfully presented and very good - dinner was three courses and tremendously generous portions.

I know that I was thoroughly impressed with the service and the people we encountered (particularly the wedding planner). Even the housekeeping staff we passed in the hallways greeted us with a "hello" or "good morning".

The location is fantastic - walk to many great restaurants, shops, etc.

For people who aren't on a budget and like the southern hospitality, this is a wonderful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.