We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, guest rooms, lobby, staff and meeting space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 20%
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent location, guest rooms, lobby, staff and meeting space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I spend many nights in hotels and ballrooms. The Charleston Place was excellent. The sleeping rooms were very comfortable, the meeting space was excellent (nice, high ceilings), the food fantastic and the lobby was great. The best part about my experience here, however, was the staff. Gary Hutchinson of the Banquet/Conference staff was AWESOME! If I needed something, I would text him. Within a few minutes he just appeared with what was needed or with a solution to any situation. His staff was also great. Ceil Phillips in Conference Services was also a pleasure to work with during the week. Now for the cons. The lunch in the Palmetto Cafe was CRAZY expensive. How do you justify those prices for a burger...that doesn't even come with fries? Also, the carpeting the the hallways and guest rooms really needs to be updated. The TVs in the rooms could also be larger and it would be nice if the furniture they were in had doors that stayed open on their own. I had to place my luggage in front of the door just to keep it open to watch the TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carljw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Spent one night in this lovely hotel and enjoyed every minute! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had facials at the Spa which were wonderful. We used both the restaurant for brunch and room service for dinner and both were attended by courteous staff and the food was very good. The hotel is expensive, but I understand all of Charleston is, so if you are going to spend the money this is a very nice place to do so. The rooms are all being redone, we had a room that had not yet been refurbished, but it was very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed with a big tub. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean city new jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed this past week on the club floor. Room was spacious and elegant and although a tad worn I understand they are set to be renovated. Staff at the hotel was excellent and the service and food on the club floor was simply superb. We usually stay at ritz Carlton's and this hotel is at that level. We would highly recommend this hotel and would like readers to know that if you stay on the club level there is simply more wonderful food then you could ever eat. Highly recommended for a hotel stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank davidt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with lots of attractions, dining, and shopping options within walking distance. I was staying there for a conference, so I didn't have a lot of free time, but was able to maximize it because of the location...staff was friendly, rooms clean, quite, and overall a great time....

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jbwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our experience was absolutely magical. Our two adjoining rooms were beautifully and impeccably appointed. We took advantage of the sumptuous food on the club level,the convenience of which made it easier to get out and enjoy the days exploring Charleston. The staff was extremely resourceful and always friendly. We loved our experience and will never stay anywhere else but the Charleston Place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was informed that I would be going to work in our Charleston, SC office for a few days. Little did I know that I would be staying at the best hotel I have EVER encountered. The staff is bar none, the most professional, courteous, "tends to your every need and makes you feel important" type of staff. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who has the pleasure to be able to visit one of the most charming cities EVER!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very clean and the hotel staff is very courteous. The Thoroughbred in the hotel is a nice bar to lounge and order drinks. The location is excellent as it's close to the sites and great restaurants of downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Belmond, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing