We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sophisticated and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very clean and the hotel staff is very courteous. The Thoroughbred in the hotel is a nice bar to lounge and order drinks. The location is excellent as it's close to the sites and great restaurants of downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    347
    178
    78
    43
See reviews for
334
781
48
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We traveled to this lovely hotel and were met with accommodations and service that were well below par. Note the hotel is undergoing a 4 year renovation project that they do not disclose upon booking or upon check in so be sure to ask for a room away from the construction. With room mishaps and an on-sight manager that didn't take care of business, i.e restitution for our multiple troubles we left with a sour taste without plans to return; however upon alerting the general manager of our experience he immediately responded and made it up to us (lemons to lemonade) The hotel is truly lovely, great restaurants, a fantastic barista, and ideal location and I am delighted to report we will indeed be their guests again. Oh, the pet fee is not unreasonable. The Charleston Grill is a must.

Room Tip: note where the construction is currently
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Ashley,

We are so glad that we were able to turn your trip around while you were still with us. We want to make sure that every guest has the best experience possible and anything less should be addressed. While we are sorry you had some issues at first, we do appreciate you reconsidering us as your hotel of choice for Charleston and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Stracey
General Manager
Charleston Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Just had our third visit here and absolutely love it! The staff here makes you feel so welcome and special and although it is a bit pricey you cannot beat the location and service! To experience Charleston at its best stay at Charleston Place! Great restaurants too!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We travel a lot, and Charleston Place is always our favorite place to be. Their friendliness and helpfulness on a consistent basis is better than any other place we have been, and we have stayed at a lot of 5 star places.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family and I spent four nights in Charleston over Spring Break and spent two here and two at the French Quarter Inn (another review). Both were excellent but I'm giving this one the edge. The location is excellent with two of the most important streets straddling the city block location of the hotel - Meeting St running down to the Battery and King Street with its shops and restaurants. Additionally it sits at the head of the historic market. The hotel building itself is in the midst of a small stylish shopping arcade and is modern (though low key) rather than historic. Not really my ideal setting for a hotel but it does have three attractive courtyards which live up to the image of a luxury hotel.

We booked a deluxe junior suite. What we received was a large living room with both a dining table and living area with a separate master bedroom. It was a very nice suite and perfect for having two young children on the sofa bed. The scale of the room versus our other Charleston hotel really made a difference in my comparison. On our arrival evening we opted to have room service and I was very pleased to find that the in-room menu is actually the menu for the Charleston Grill, which is one of the reasons I chose the hotel in the first place due to its reputation as leading restaurant in a city famous for food. We had an excellent room service experience with a highly polished French waiter arriving at our room and setting the dining table for a full white linen three course meal. The food was of course excellent (and the children's needs were catered for).

The hotel has a grand lobby with two sets of sweeping stairs heading to the second floor. There was a little more foot traffic through the lobby than I am familiar with but I do think that it was not so much due to the shops rather than the hotel seems to be very popular with the local crowd for lunches, cocktails and dining. We spent an evening at the actual Charleston Grill itself and the hotel's bar - it would be an error to stay there and not enjoy the full service experience of those venues. The Charleston Grill itself was excellent - great food but the service was exceptional.

It not a perfect hotel but the room combined with food and service that lives up to the imagined south makes a great combination.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice and clean place to stay. The staff was helpful and very friendly. This place is near the market district close to many landmarks. I would definitely stay here again. You can't go wrong. Many great restaurants to try.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel itself is absolutely full of charm and elegance! Also, the gardens and landscaping outside the hotel is phenomenal on its own! Aside from it being gorgeous and having wonderful rooms, plus a fantastic location that's accessible from 3 different streets, the hotel staff is wonderful! For starters, I went to the restaurant for breakfast and I ordered something which I didn't end up liking, and they were totally awesome, they let me order the buffet but let me have anything from the buffet, including hot stuff even though I asked for the basic buffet! Secondly, I was so careless that I left my wallet, with money, credit cards, and my ID, in the hotel room, and by the time I figured it out, I was already 2 hours away in Savannah. They overnighted it to me because I was leaving for New Jersey that day, and I just got it now, and nothing was out of place! STAY AT THIS HOTEL IF YOU'RE GOING TO CHARLESTON! I highly recommend it! Thanks Charleston Place, I will return to Charleston solely to visit the hotel, and for the food! :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.