We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience But Overall Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Save Saved
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% Off Third Night
Ranked #13 of 54 hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience But Overall Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I booked via American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts two concierge level suites for my husband and me plus another couple. The Amex programme allows for room upgrades (subject to availability), a food and beverage credit and late check out. Upon arrival, one of the suites was upgraded to the Presidential Suite! This suite appears to have been recently renovated; however, there were no glasses, plates etc... in the pantry nor was there a full length mirror. The suite that my husband and I stayed was, of course, smaller but that was to be expected. Given the price ($885/night plus tax = $1,005), it was disappointing that the furniture/carpet was a bit worn and not to the spec of the Presidential Suite. Again, no full length mirror.
The concierge level offers a great array of food throughout the day. There does not seem to be any control over access which I think the hotel should address as it was always crowded. I was not asked for my room key/number upon arrival.
Housekeeping notes: Overall, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,008
    279
    151
    64
    35
See reviews for
276
632
43
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a luxury hotel and makes no pretense otherwise. But it isn't snobby.

All of the people, doormen, bellmen, desk clerks, housekeepers and waitstaff, actually listen to you. They try to solve whatever issue you have as if you were family, and they give you their full attention. They show so much empathy that it is easy to forget the gratuity they deserve. (Don't overlook that. These people actually give that extra service tips were intended to reward.)

I had a room on the club level. I didn't know it earlier but it costs about $100 extra. For some people it is worthwhile. There is a free breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and early evening cocktail party. They serve champagne and other beverages at each of these, so you might save enough on your bar tab to pay the extra cost.

I am just a small town man from Colorado, so take this with a grain of salt, but this is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: You should try the club level. If your hotel is just a place to change and sleep, Day's Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a glorious long week end at Charleston Place for my mother's 80th birthday and my husband's 55th birthday. We stayed on the Club Floor of the hotel and the service could not have been better. Rick could not have been more helpful in arranging special activities for the family. I would highly recommend the hotel for anyone wanting the ultimate leisure experience. We would all go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay immensely!it is located in the middle of Charleston. All the shopping and great restaurants are within 2 blocks. It is across from the Market too. It is in the middle of everything. The lobby bar was outstanding too. The charleston grill was the finest restaurant we ate at during our stay. Rooms were very nice and well appointed. We had a little balcony for the sounds of the city. All very nice. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Location - Perfect, Hotel - Perfect. Although not inexpensive, the Charleston Place was the most welcoming hotel I have been in. The personal service was outstanding. You could tell that the employees of the hotel were actually happy to be there and happy to see you!!
A wonderful place to just sit and watch the people go by. You could easily stay alone if needed and feel comfortable. Wonderful rooftop pool to relax after a long day of walking, resting up for the wonderful restaurants in the hotel and nearby!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olcott, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well located to visit market and historic district. Every one was very nice. It was not inexpensive. The shops in the hotel add to the experience. The free trolley stop made it easy to get around. The hotel is modern, but does and outstanding job of building like an old southern building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

First time to Charleston and three different people recommended this place. I can see why. Was upgraded from a very nice room to a very nice room. Beautiful hotel, awesome staff and the perfect location. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orient Express, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.