We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and its facilities are beautiful. It is in a great location, very close to shopping on King St. The service was excellent. Staying on the Club Floor was well worth the price. .......,,,,,,...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    333
    171
    73
    41
See reviews for
322
749
48
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked thru our platinum Am Exp and received our room early, at 11:30 a.m., received the promised upgrade, room credit, continental breakfast and late checkout. We booked a Jr. Suite and received the Deluxe Jr. Suite which was a great corner room with a separate living area and bedroom - Room 4C. The manager also sent a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit plate up to our room around 5:00 which was perfect timing after a day of walking around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Certainly a nice hotel in a good, but not prime, location. The hotel is modern and does not seem to fit the Charleston ambience. Charleston Grill is a bit stuffy, but the food is well done standard fare.

Service is exceptional although we got a bad dining recommendation from the concierge.

If you're there on business, it's the place to stay. If you want to experience old Charleston, you can do better. Check out the Battery B&B's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We always stay here when in the charleston area. Great rooms, easy access to all the downtown excitement. The price is high, but you get what you pay for in this case. The only complaint I have, is the absence of an in room coffee maker, but room service was prompt. The desk staff is awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurendavis
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was just catching up on some reviews and can't believe I haven't posted a review for this hotel. We stayed here in December 2011. Our son was 12 weeks at the time and it was one of the best vacations, largely due to this hotel. After a long drive from Florida, we were upgraded to a junior suite. We had booked with a travel agent and there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us. We had breakfast every morning included in our package and it was outstanding! The service was also fabulous! And we visited the lobby bar several times. Great drinks and great service. There was a beautiful large train display in the lobby. Even if you aren't staying there but you are in the area for the holidays, go check it out. The valet team was so attentive. It was our first trip with our new baby and this stay was perfect. Fabulous location! Oh, and don't forget your bathing suit.... they have an incredible in door pool!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit and it was a "gem" as always. I have been fortunate enough to stay on the "club level" all three times. I stay at many lovely hotels throughout the country, and this one is a favorite. Let me begin by stating that there is no better service to be found in any hotel The bellman, hotel operator, front desk, concierge, housekeeping personnel, "club level" staff, and manager within this hotel are exemplary. As a hotel guest, my room and the hotel ambience is always important to me, but service is paramount. The rooms are lovely and the breakfast, tea, cocktail hour, and desserts/cordials offered daily is great. Location can't be beat. I will continue to stay here every visit to Charleston, as you just can't do better than this, not only here, but anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Charleston place from Thursday evening to Sunday in mid-January for a wedding and had a fabulous stay.

We booked through Visa Signature's hotels websites, which I find provides an excellent value for the rate, in addition to several extra benefits - continental breakfast, internet, and a food and beverage credit. I also believe as a result of our using that card we got a lovely fruit and cheese plate and a bottle of red wine delivered to our room on the first afternoon. It was a delight to come back after a day of sightseeing and have a snack and a drink waiting for us.

The location of the hotel is ideal - it is right across from the Market, one side borders King Street so close to the shopping there, close to excellent dining, and an easy walk to the water and all along South of Broad.

The hotel room was lovely. Very nicely furnished, with a very comfortable bed. We loved the turn down service, as its so nice to come back at the end of the day and find a welcoming bed with a little treat on the pillow.

The bathroom was clean and had most items you could need (only thing I saw missing was toothpaste). The hotel fitness center, as well as the pool and hot tub looked nice, but we did not have enough time during our stay to use them.

The concierge was very helpful - they arranged a private carriage tour for us as well as another couple with whom we were traveling. Our tour guide was excellent and we highly recommend the tour as well. The concierge was less helpful for last-minute dinner reservations (which is to be expected in the age of Open Table - the concierge let me know they basically just had a souped up version of Open Table that had very few reservations not available on the consumer version) - but it was a relatively impossible task as we had needed to switch our reservation at the last minute. I recommend booking meals in advance for the more popular restaurants. We especially enjoyed FIG and Husk.

We ate breakfast at the Charleston Grill each morning (the breakfast restaurant was undergoing renovation, so they were serving that menu in the CG). The food was outstanding, though a bit expensive. We also noticed that the breakfast menu changed during the weekend, and the prices for items that were on the previous menu went up during the weekend. It wasn't totally surprising, given increased demand, but it did feel a bit sneaky.

All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel to friends and family, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.