We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up To $200 Resort Credit
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for my 50th birthday in early December, and I got a great deal on Luxury Link for a package on the club level. It was fantastic, although not so great if you are dieting. The food was constant and very high quality. Top shelf drinks after 5 and beer and wine in the afternoons. The staff was spectacular, and after a mishap of delivering my birthday suprise from my husband to the wrong room, the concierge handled it very professionaly. I would recommend this hotel for a weekend in charleston because of the service, location and friendliness of the staff. I am not really a spa person, but since services came with the package I bought I had a facial and massage the morning we were leaving and thought it was very nice, although I am not a good one for comparisons. We loved Charleston too- it was a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    401
    190
    87
    48
See reviews for
396
871
49
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Well located. First class shopping mall in the hotel and step outside to King Street. Towels galore and changed every day. Nice amenities. Comfortable bed and very clean room. Also good restaurants in the hotel, although we did not dine there. Self parking was $14 a day. All in all a very pleasant stay and the price we got was very good for the quality - $240/night

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
424 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hospitality shown by the staff and central location of this hotel is what makes The Charleston Place. Our room a deluxe jr. suite, small standing balcony faced Meeting Street, 1 king bed, 1 pull out sofa and 1 bathroom. Room décor has a definite old world feel/Georgian style. Tried two onsite dining options: Room Service for breakfast was good and The lobby Thoroughbread Club offered great tapas/cocktails and a fantastic live pianist. Indoor swimming pool and Spa great amenities ( children’s spa menu available). My complaints would be the lacking bed quality and very slow Internet speed in room ( download 0.2mbps/upload 0.24mbps).

Room Tip: We had a very hard time obtaining dining reservations (stayed over Christmas and this compounded pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

What a lovely hotel to spend Xmas day, front desk, concierge and rest of staff 5 star, it is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.
The Xmas decorations were excellent and the whole place felt like Xmas.

Room Tip: We took two beds and the room was enormous, American hotels just need to give bigger bathtubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

High expectations. Stayed on club level, one of the best club levels as far as availability. All staff were extremely helpful and did what they said they would do. Elevator waits were non existent. Great location near the market and lots of restaurants. Bed wasn't hot, which I sometimes notice with luxury hotels. Only real complaint is the noise level in the rooms. Not helped by hardwood floors in the entryway and thin doors/door closers.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in mid-December for our 12-12-12 wedding and honeymoon. Rick Burton, the hotel consierge, was a blessing and delight to work with. He handled everything from hair appointments, ceremony transportation ( including a stop for lottery tickets on the way back, since we were "feeling lucky"), surprise gift deliveries and flowers with grace, humor and dignity. We enjoyed the ammentities of the club level and we're surprised at how substantial the food and beverage offerings were throughout the day. The holiday decor was gorgeous throughout the hotel and the location central and convenient. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The room door was eft open and now I am afraid to eave the hotel how will I know it won't happen again

I was told to check if anything was missing and thankfully it wasn't but no follows to as

I won't write about the rest but their sweetness drips like the simple syrup they use for their tea as long as you don't complain
Obviously this is keeping me awake
As a breast cancer survivor I take a trip before my checkup to reduce stress not add to it

I won't discuss the other issues minor and there were some

Room Tip: What can I say the room was left open how can I at to choose a good room Shower did not work well b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Belmond, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.