We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasury Institute Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Charleston Place

Save Saved
You added Belmond Charleston Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 13 more sites!
Belmond Charleston Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer - 15% Off
Ranked #16 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treasury Institute Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location makes this hotel hard to beat. Located right next to the historical district and the bay. Everything was within walking distance. Room was great and lobby and service was one of the best. Staff provided a number of running locations with maps and distances which was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    887
    243
    140
    59
    33
See reviews for
242
547
41
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is good place to stay if you want a large hotel close to King Street and the Market. But there are a lot of quaint, luxury inns within a block or 2 that would be much more charming. Charleston Place is good for groups and shoppers. There are many shops as a part of this hotel. It's sort of like staying in an upscale mall. The spa was disappointing. Not at the least bit cozy. Small treatment rooms the only amenity is a pool, which in summer would probably be great. There are just way too many better options for this price or less with just as good locale. Most inns are much more Charleston than Charleston Place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for a business meeting in November. First the positives. The location was perfect with easy access to shopping and restaurants. The lobby and public areas were nice but not spectacular. The concierge was very helpful. The room was pretty with poster beds. The beds were comfortable and there was a great tub. The furnishings were a bit worn but not terribly so. There was no coffee in the room which I was surprised by. The special amenities like shoe shines and robes are not important to me. So for me, while it was a nice hotel with a nice room in a great location, I probably couldn't justify the high price in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We visited this hotel based on a recommendation from family who leave in the area. It was a really top-notch hotel in every regard. Staff were friendly, helpful and informative. The rooms were really nice with high ceilings and a great view overlooking the courtyard. I felt like I was back in European again - great accommodations and lots to do, right out the door.

Room Tip: In winter, seek a room looking South across the courtyards. Avoid rooms adjacent to hotel parking g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-SAlem, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Charleston Place, 11/17 and 11/18/12.
Room with balcony (just an open window actually) was neat but small. Seating was average.
For the $360+ per night (taxes, parking, etc) a coffee pot and/or mini fridge would have been nice. The staff was great. The lobby very nice. The biggest thing going ofr the hotel is the location. You are right on Meeting St, King St and Market St. Lots of food and shoe stores within walking distance. You're really paying for location.

Room Tip: KingSt side offers best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Spent the Thanksgiving Weekend at the Famed Charleston Place. It's been sometime since the family went on a nice upscale vacation and Charleston has been on the bucket list for sometime now. We wanted to do this one right. The location is perfect right at the end of Market St so all of the happenings are a short walk away. The room was nice but noticed no mini frig or coffee pot in the room. Then after looking around I noticed little "Dings" here and there around the Hotel such as peeling paint, chipped woodwork etc. Trust me I am not a picky person and it's very easy for me to look the other way. But over the few days the little things began to add. Then one morning I noticed my sons bed was very saggy, and while taking a shower I noticed mold in the grout in the shower stall. I should have asked for another room.
After checking some of the other Hotels in the area around Market St (Future reference) I felt I made a mistake in choosing the Charleston Place. While checking out I noticed that I was double charged for Valet ($60.00 instead of $30.00 a day) While the Clerk corrected the bill I was never asked "How was your stay".
The best part of the Hotel is Thoroughbred's. Outstanding cocktails and Tapas.

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing Meeting St due to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here for 5 days in november. Faultless. Fantastic management ( thanks Ryan) Richard burton on concierge first class. Benita in the palmetto grill, the epitome of good southern hospitality.food in the charleston grill first class. All Staff truly exceptional. Some rooms are about to be refitted, its fabulous as it is because the overall experience is outstanding!
Marvelous pool has a roof which opens in hot weather but there are beds outside when roof is closed too.
Enough said! Dont hesitate to go!

Room Tip: This is a large hotel and some rooms can be a long walk from the lift. Ask for nearer rooms. Spa is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Charleston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel
Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Charleston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.