We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Southern Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a beautiful, old hotel in a lovely area surrounded by restaurants, boutiques and big old trees. It's near the park and wonderful shopping. It was a little pricey so I expected a few more amenities. To be fair when I called the front desk they had a bathrobe, magnified mirror and clock up to our room within minutes. The room was spacious and clean with nice linens and pay per view. The lobby is lovely as is the bar and restaurant, where we had breakfast each morning. They have a nice buffet or you can order off of the menu. They do have a pool which is the smallest pool I've ever seen -- but you can jump in and cool off. The staff is extremely friendly and truly exude southern hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we overlooked the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    306
    112
    31
    15
See reviews for
141
345
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend & had a great stay. The rooms were nice, clean & up to date. The breakfast at the hotel (a bit pricey) was yummy & the servers were so friendly. The location is great- just a few blocks from the market & other fun areas. We loved the little things they did- cold Gatorade one very hot afternoon, cookies in the evening, & frozen chocolate covered berries served around the pool. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently completed our second stay at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District. You can't beat the location and the staff are some of the nicest and most helpful we've encountered in our Marriott Property stays. The hotel is clean and beautiful. Rooms are a bit small and slightly dated but it is located in the historic district so that isn't unexpected. Our room was very clean. We had an extremely early departure and the staff took great care in having our vehicle waiting. I think my highlight was the snack spread after a long day of sight seeing. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ga
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel! Parking deck located right across the street was convenient.
Comfy beds. After a ghost tour of the city, I was worried I wouldn't sleep. But, that bed and those sheets were so comfortable, I sleep sound all night.
The people at the check in desk were so friendly and helpful. They gave me the best suggestions for meals. I had a marvelous dinner and breakfast while there. I can't wait to come back to Charleston. I will def. stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for submitting this review. Our team of Navigators prides themselves on providing a flawless Renaissance experience which includes offering customized suggestions that allow you to savor, sip, shop, and see our favorite local discoveries in Charleston. We’re very excited that you enjoyed our suggestions and we can’t wait to share our newest discoveries with you on your next stay!

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Renaissance property has a superb location in the Historic center of Charleston and relies on it and a friendly and eager to please staff to overcome a rather iffy value proposition. I think of Renaissance as a four-star brand, but this is more of a three-star property, in a newer, purpose built building with paper thin walls (we were constantly disturbed by neighbors above, below, and adjacent) and rather basic amenities and bathrooms.

On paper, it all seems to be there, but Concierge staffing was spotty. The pool area is quite tiny and not attended by staff. Rooms lack requisites like minibars and in-room safes. Large hotels like this should be well stocked with morning newspapers for guests, but they had always "just run out."

Everything seemed well maintained and very clean, and service is helpful and friendly. (Florence in housekeeping went above and beyond the call to help recover a lost item.) Other plusses: Wifi coverage seemed excellent (fee); valet parking is reasonable cost ($19) relative to many cities; and the workout area is modern, if not particularly expansive.

It's hard to get into this property for under $250/night, but its room product and amenities are equivalent to limited service brands charging half as much in Charleston. The difference is they are out by the airport, don't have a full service restaurant/room service, and lack meeting space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for offering your feedback about your recent stay. The team was excited that you described them as friendly and “eager to please.” We were also excited that one of our caring room Stylists, Florence, received recognition for going “above and beyond.” We’ve certainly utilized your comments to assist in our team’s continuous improvement process which is focused on providing each of our guests with the value and experience that they expect and deserve. Thank you for staying with us. I hope we have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Spoke with Katelyn from front dest prior to check in and she was very helpful. Our room (633 Suite) was outstanding.
I came across similar issue upon checking in as far as a bellhop but as soon as I asked one was there to help and did a great job. Front desk staff was help full and kind.

Still in hotel and all **EXCEPT for the following*** has been outstanding.

We had the do not disturb sign on our door until after our showers @ 8:45 am. When we left the room housekeeping was working on the rooms around us. At 11:30 when we got back our room hadn't been serviced (still old food from our early breakfast, towels all used, beds unmade, etc...)
I called down to inform the front desk, and they assured we hadn't been missed and someone would be up soon.
We got back at 3:45 and still no houskeeping!
Now we have no towels to shower for this evenkng, daughter is napping on an inmade bed, and room smells like this mornings breakfast :(
Finally sent someone to bring us fresh towels and take the food out.
She said they never let her know today. Oh well... Not going to let it ruin our opinion of the hotel since everything else has been great, bit it's still pretty sad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. I liked the ability to self park across the street. Rooms were clean and quiet. Within walking distance to shopping and food and 15 minutes by car to the beach. I would stay here again in the future. The only negatives were having to pay for coffee and wifi.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,194 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#28 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.