We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently completed our second stay at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District. You can't beat the location and the staff are some of the nicest and most helpful we've encountered in our Marriott Property stays. The hotel is clean and beautiful. Rooms are a bit small and slightly dated but it is located in the historic district so that isn't unexpected. Our room was very clean. We had an extremely early departure and the staff took great care in having our vehicle waiting. I think my highlight was the snack spread after a long day of sight seeing. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    272
    102
    27
    14
See reviews for
120
310
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, ga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Lovely hotel! Parking deck located right across the street was convenient.
Comfy beds. After a ghost tour of the city, I was worried I wouldn't sleep. But, that bed and those sheets were so comfortable, I sleep sound all night.
The people at the check in desk were so friendly and helpful. They gave me the best suggestions for meals. I had a marvelous dinner and breakfast while there. I can't wait to come back to Charleston. I will def. stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for submitting this review. Our team of Navigators prides themselves on providing a flawless Renaissance experience which includes offering customized suggestions that allow you to savor, sip, shop, and see our favorite local discoveries in Charleston. We’re very excited that you enjoyed our suggestions and we can’t wait to share our newest discoveries with you on your next stay!

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Renaissance property has a superb location in the Historic center of Charleston and relies on it and a friendly and eager to please staff to overcome a rather iffy value proposition. I think of Renaissance as a four-star brand, but this is more of a three-star property, in a newer, purpose built building with paper thin walls (we were constantly disturbed by neighbors above, below, and adjacent) and rather basic amenities and bathrooms.

On paper, it all seems to be there, but Concierge staffing was spotty. The pool area is quite tiny and not attended by staff. Rooms lack requisites like minibars and in-room safes. Large hotels like this should be well stocked with morning newspapers for guests, but they had always "just run out."

Everything seemed well maintained and very clean, and service is helpful and friendly. (Florence in housekeeping went above and beyond the call to help recover a lost item.) Other plusses: Wifi coverage seemed excellent (fee); valet parking is reasonable cost ($19) relative to many cities; and the workout area is modern, if not particularly expansive.

It's hard to get into this property for under $250/night, but its room product and amenities are equivalent to limited service brands charging half as much in Charleston. The difference is they are out by the airport, don't have a full service restaurant/room service, and lack meeting space.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian W, General Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for offering your feedback about your recent stay. The team was excited that you described them as friendly and “eager to please.” We were also excited that one of our caring room Stylists, Florence, received recognition for going “above and beyond.” We’ve certainly utilized your comments to assist in our team’s continuous improvement process which is focused on providing each of our guests with the value and experience that they expect and deserve. Thank you for staying with us. I hope we have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Brian Wander
General Manager
brian.wander@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Spoke with Katelyn from front dest prior to check in and she was very helpful. Our room (633 Suite) was outstanding.
I came across similar issue upon checking in as far as a bellhop but as soon as I asked one was there to help and did a great job. Front desk staff was help full and kind.

Still in hotel and all **EXCEPT for the following*** has been outstanding.

We had the do not disturb sign on our door until after our showers @ 8:45 am. When we left the room housekeeping was working on the rooms around us. At 11:30 when we got back our room hadn't been serviced (still old food from our early breakfast, towels all used, beds unmade, etc...)
I called down to inform the front desk, and they assured we hadn't been missed and someone would be up soon.
We got back at 3:45 and still no houskeeping!
Now we have no towels to shower for this evenkng, daughter is napping on an inmade bed, and room smells like this mornings breakfast :(
Finally sent someone to bring us fresh towels and take the food out.
She said they never let her know today. Oh well... Not going to let it ruin our opinion of the hotel since everything else has been great, bit it's still pretty sad.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding. I liked the ability to self park across the street. Rooms were clean and quiet. Within walking distance to shopping and food and 15 minutes by car to the beach. I would stay here again in the future. The only negatives were having to pay for coffee and wifi.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We decided to go to Charleston at the last minute (made reservations the day we went) and almost every other hotel was full. Not sure what was happening in Charleston that weekend but the Renaissance was the only hotel we could find in the downtown area that had availability. Paid more than I thought we should for a room but for last minute travel, it wasn't bad, especially given that the hotel is tucked away on a quiet street and is convenient (walking) to all the sites one would want to see in Charleston.

The room opened up to the pool area on the second floor. It was raining while we were there so no one at the pool. I can see this would be a problem (noise) if the pool area happened to be busy. The room was smallish but comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was also small but adequate. I would not consider this a luxury hotel but is is definitely above average. No complaints about the bed: a good night's sleep was had.

The main shopping street is just out the door to the left (including a Starbucks) and Market Street is just a short walk out the door to the left. The Battery is within walking distance and well-worth the time. Make sure you make an effort to walk through the lesser know streets such as Longitude Avenue to get the full Charleston experience and to view the variety of historic architecture.

Although not what I would consider an outstanding property, I did like this better than Charleston Place and the Mills House. So, for stays in Charleston, the Renaissance has made it on our list for future visits. Whether or not we stay at the Renaissance again depends on price.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, you might want to avoid rooms that open up to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance Hotel in Charleston, SC. It is located in the Historical District and is walking distance to many of the historical sights. Breakfast was included in our deal and it was served as a buffet with local and regional foods as well as traditional breakfast foods. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. Small swimming pool which we did not use.

Room Tip: WiFi charges are expensive, but free for Marriott Gold card members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us help you discover Charleston, SC - one of the country's most fascinating cities. The Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel offers Southern charm and modern convenience, with its downtown location and superb amenities. Our rooms include marble bathrooms and flat-screen TVs; additional perks, like plush Marriott bedding add comfort to your stay. Some of our downtown Charleston, SC boutique style hotel rooms offer balconies. Consider booking our special Discover Charleston room, and enjoy some indigenous extras! Stop in for fresh, seasonal dining at our signature restaurant, or order room service and relax in your room. Meetings and events simply shine at our hotel; the versatile and beautifully appointed Charleston Ballroom can accommodate up to 150 guests. And excellent Charleston, SC attractions, including King Street shopping, are just a few steps away. Style and substance live in harmony at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.