We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Hotel, great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Parking
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Renaissance Hotel, great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We found the rooms to be great, and an easy walk to anywhere in the historical area you want to see. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. They gave good suggestions on local restaurants, and directions to places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street or front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    229
    84
    20
    12
See reviews for
101
258
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I have spent a couple weekends lately in Charleston and stayed at the Renaissance. It is a great location, has very nice rooms, a nice fitness center/pool,easy parking, and a decent buffet. However, the staff was a little spotty. We had an encounter at the desk checking in the first time about what we were entitled too as platinum elite marriott members. In fact the lady was a little huffy. Fortunately, the front desk supervisor Reid interceded and resolved every issue. After that our stay could not be any more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was good but could use a little more attention. They forgot to bring us juice and a second round of coffee/tea. The second visit, they asked about beverages, but the buffet had to be restocked on certain items only after we asked. The fitness center although good, the cardio equipment needs some updating. The tvs don't carry all the channels and the headphone jacks don't work so well. My second visit got real good results as my wife and I were fortunate to get Reid again. We stay in lots of Marriotts and with a little tweaking, this one could be real good

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and a view if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, right in the center of the historic district. The rooms are well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The lounge is great and staff the same. This is my new hotel for staying in Charleston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed with my family, wife and two teenage kids, at the Renaissance Charleston Hotel while visiting the College of Charleston for my daughter. The location is great for the campus. However the hotel bills itself as a luxury hotel and prices itself as such, but it is not. There are other luxury hotels in the area that are much nicer and worth the price. The staff got more than one thing wrong both before our stay and during. While booking, I was told we would be on the club level. It turns out there is no club level. While there we were told checkout time was 12:00. It turns out it was 11:00. Also the bar/lounge area is really much too small for a hotel this size and so is not all that inviting. Nevertheless, it is a nice and convenient hotel if you are visiting the College of Charleston

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were expecting a little nicer ambiance based on hotel website photos. Rooms were small however the location is very convenient to King st. if you're into shopping. Well definitely try another property on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a family emergency and the property and employees couldn't have been nicer. They were able to tell us were we needed to be and got us there quickly. If you go to the bar you have to order a shaken mixed drink the bartender is great

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always love staying in Charleston, especially when we had the most beautiful weather in January! But you aren't looking at Trip Advisor for the weather report, so...We had a great one-night stay here. The lobby was stylish and attractive. Very handsome bar, even if small and sitting areas. The rooms are comfy, clean and quiet, which is great considering you are right off of King St (busy steet). The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning ($18pp). Typical fair such as eggs, bacon, grits and muffins, but also had fresh fruit, cold cereals, and yogurt. Again, the staff was very nice.
I have stayed at another Renaissance property and while it was a little nicer, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect setting at this Downtown Charleston, SC hotel. Situated in the city's oldest quarter, Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel boasts boutique accommodations and modern day amenities. Whether shopping on King Street, enjoying Spoleto Festival, visiting the College of Charleston or strolling the City Market, be captivated by the local knowledge shared by the hotel Navigators. Our hotel navigators have the inside scoop because our hotel is a proud community supporter. Take in the hotel decor; regionally inspired, with a modern twist at this Charleston, SC, hotel. Enjoy lavish guest rooms, a select few with balconies and meeting space designed to inspire with convenient connectivity. See why we are a hot spot with locals for menus that mix modern flavors & traditional southern fare. Promotions at our hotel in Charleston, SC, allow you to pamper yourself in a Historic District hotel in Charleston, SC, that combines traditional southern charm with modern sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.