We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel needing some attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Charleston
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good hotel needing some attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I have spent a couple weekends lately in Charleston and stayed at the Renaissance. It is a great location, has very nice rooms, a nice fitness center/pool,easy parking, and a decent buffet. However, the staff was a little spotty. We had an encounter at the desk checking in the first time about what we were entitled too as platinum elite marriott members. In fact the lady was a little huffy. Fortunately, the front desk supervisor Reid interceded and resolved every issue. After that our stay could not be any more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was good but could use a little more attention. They forgot to bring us juice and a second round of coffee/tea. The second visit, they asked about beverages, but the buffet had to be restocked on certain items only after we asked. The fitness center although good, the cardio equipment needs some updating. The tvs don't carry all the channels and the headphone jacks don't work so well. My second visit got real good results as my wife and I were fortunate to get Reid again. We stay in lots of Marriotts and with a little tweaking, this one could be real good

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and a view if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    207
    75
    18
    9
See reviews for
88
228
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, right in the center of the historic district. The rooms are well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The lounge is great and staff the same. This is my new hotel for staying in Charleston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed with my family, wife and two teenage kids, at the Renaissance Charleston Hotel while visiting the College of Charleston for my daughter. The location is great for the campus. However the hotel bills itself as a luxury hotel and prices itself as such, but it is not. There are other luxury hotels in the area that are much nicer and worth the price. The staff got more than one thing wrong both before our stay and during. While booking, I was told we would be on the club level. It turns out there is no club level. While there we were told checkout time was 12:00. It turns out it was 11:00. Also the bar/lounge area is really much too small for a hotel this size and so is not all that inviting. Nevertheless, it is a nice and convenient hotel if you are visiting the College of Charleston

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were expecting a little nicer ambiance based on hotel website photos. Rooms were small however the location is very convenient to King st. if you're into shopping. Well definitely try another property on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a family emergency and the property and employees couldn't have been nicer. They were able to tell us were we needed to be and got us there quickly. If you go to the bar you have to order a shaken mixed drink the bartender is great

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always love staying in Charleston, especially when we had the most beautiful weather in January! But you aren't looking at Trip Advisor for the weather report, so...We had a great one-night stay here. The lobby was stylish and attractive. Very handsome bar, even if small and sitting areas. The rooms are comfy, clean and quiet, which is great considering you are right off of King St (busy steet). The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning ($18pp). Typical fair such as eggs, bacon, grits and muffins, but also had fresh fruit, cold cereals, and yogurt. Again, the staff was very nice.
I have stayed at another Renaissance property and while it was a little nicer, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago, so we decided to spend three nights over New Years and I have to say that Marriott needs to consider spending money on these old hotels if they want to keep charging $$$ for them. The hotel is worn out. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are clean, but they need a renovation. We only had breakfast because we had planned to eat at local restaurants. The breakfast was good, Marriott always has great breakfast, but the restaurants in the hotels are overpriced for mediocre food, so we stayed away from that this time. Valet service was a little chaotic being that there is not much room and cars were everywhere in front of the hotel. Location is a plus,so that made up for everything else, but we will not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to another hotel. Very thin walls. Very outdated furniture. Worn out. Needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District

Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.