We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel needing some attention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good hotel needing some attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I have spent a couple weekends lately in Charleston and stayed at the Renaissance. It is a great location, has very nice rooms, a nice fitness center/pool,easy parking, and a decent buffet. However, the staff was a little spotty. We had an encounter at the desk checking in the first time about what we were entitled too as platinum elite marriott members. In fact the lady was a little huffy. Fortunately, the front desk supervisor Reid interceded and resolved every issue. After that our stay could not be any more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was good but could use a little more attention. They forgot to bring us juice and a second round of coffee/tea. The second visit, they asked about beverages, but the buffet had to be restocked on certain items only after we asked. The fitness center although good, the cardio equipment needs some updating. The tvs don't carry all the channels and the headphone jacks don't work so well. My second visit got real good results as my wife and I were fortunate to get Reid again. We stay in lots of Marriotts and with a little tweaking, this one could be real good

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and a view if possible,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    285
    106
    29
    15
See reviews for
127
324
15
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great hotel, right in the center of the historic district. The rooms are well decorated, very clean and comfortable. The lounge is great and staff the same. This is my new hotel for staying in Charleston!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed with my family, wife and two teenage kids, at the Renaissance Charleston Hotel while visiting the College of Charleston for my daughter. The location is great for the campus. However the hotel bills itself as a luxury hotel and prices itself as such, but it is not. There are other luxury hotels in the area that are much nicer and worth the price. The staff got more than one thing wrong both before our stay and during. While booking, I was told we would be on the club level. It turns out there is no club level. While there we were told checkout time was 12:00. It turns out it was 11:00. Also the bar/lounge area is really much too small for a hotel this size and so is not all that inviting. Nevertheless, it is a nice and convenient hotel if you are visiting the College of Charleston

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were expecting a little nicer ambiance based on hotel website photos. Rooms were small however the location is very convenient to King st. if you're into shopping. Well definitely try another property on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had a family emergency and the property and employees couldn't have been nicer. They were able to tell us were we needed to be and got us there quickly. If you go to the bar you have to order a shaken mixed drink the bartender is great

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always love staying in Charleston, especially when we had the most beautiful weather in January! But you aren't looking at Trip Advisor for the weather report, so...We had a great one-night stay here. The lobby was stylish and attractive. Very handsome bar, even if small and sitting areas. The rooms are comfy, clean and quiet, which is great considering you are right off of King St (busy steet). The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning ($18pp). Typical fair such as eggs, bacon, grits and muffins, but also had fresh fruit, cold cereals, and yogurt. Again, the staff was very nice.
I have stayed at another Renaissance property and while it was a little nicer, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago, so we decided to spend three nights over New Years and I have to say that Marriott needs to consider spending money on these old hotels if they want to keep charging $$$ for them. The hotel is worn out. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are clean, but they need a renovation. We only had breakfast because we had planned to eat at local restaurants. The breakfast was good, Marriott always has great breakfast, but the restaurants in the hotels are overpriced for mediocre food, so we stayed away from that this time. Valet service was a little chaotic being that there is not much room and cars were everywhere in front of the hotel. Location is a plus,so that made up for everything else, but we will not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to another hotel. Very thin walls. Very outdated furniture. Worn out. Needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.