We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location and quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Super location and quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Always love staying in Charleston, especially when we had the most beautiful weather in January! But you aren't looking at Trip Advisor for the weather report, so...We had a great one-night stay here. The lobby was stylish and attractive. Very handsome bar, even if small and sitting areas. The rooms are comfy, clean and quiet, which is great considering you are right off of King St (busy steet). The staff was friendly and helpful. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning ($18pp). Typical fair such as eggs, bacon, grits and muffins, but also had fresh fruit, cold cereals, and yogurt. Again, the staff was very nice.
I have stayed at another Renaissance property and while it was a little nicer, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    298
    110
    31
    15
See reviews for
134
343
16
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several years ago, so we decided to spend three nights over New Years and I have to say that Marriott needs to consider spending money on these old hotels if they want to keep charging $$$ for them. The hotel is worn out. The furniture is outdated. The rooms are clean, but they need a renovation. We only had breakfast because we had planned to eat at local restaurants. The breakfast was good, Marriott always has great breakfast, but the restaurants in the hotels are overpriced for mediocre food, so we stayed away from that this time. Valet service was a little chaotic being that there is not much room and cars were everywhere in front of the hotel. Location is a plus,so that made up for everything else, but we will not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: To choose a good room go to another hotel. Very thin walls. Very outdated furniture. Worn out. Needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBUS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed for 3 days right before Christmas. I stay at Marriott hotels often and expected the Renaissance to be at least as good if not better than other Marriott hotels. I was wrong. It is in a good location, Parking is convenient. Nice bar and common area. The room was average. The first night there was no hot water. I waited until 10:00 AM, but no hot water. The front desk could never give me an estimate when it would be fixed, and seemed annoyed that I was asking. You would have thought they would have given some type of compensation like a meal or discount. I also never got new soap. They just left the old each day. The same with the plastic liner in the ice bucket. Was never replaced. I expected more out of this hotel

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I had the opportunity to stay in Charleston between the holidays and could not have been happier with our choice. We have stayed at Charleston Place and The Planters Inn and this is their equal or even better. It has a great location just off of King Street and within walking distance of great restaurants. We were greated by a funny and helpful valet who started our stay off on a great note after a long day of traveling. The front desk manager (Kent?) took subperb care of our check in at the busiest time of the day and was personable, funny and went beyond what is usually expected. He upgraded our room without even being asked because we got along so well. The room was more than spacious for the threee of us. The king sized bed was just the right firmness and the decor was just the right amount of elegance. We did not visit the bar but it looked like you would want to spend some time there but our schedule did not allow that. If you are disappointed in this hotel then probably nothing is going to make you happy or you are just too jaded. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Room average at best. Was told room had a fridge. No fridge. TV did not work. Needed hotel tech to fix. Clock radio was broken. Rooms are not up to advertised standard. Better places to stay for the money. First and last time at this establishment. Friendly staff. No complaints there.

Room Tip: Ask to have room inspected before you check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very nice location in Charleston and I agree with other reviewers, the lobby and bar are very nice the rooms just OK. This is our second visit primarily because of location and the rooms are always very clean. But on this visit as well as the one in October we had no hot water for a day. The first time they said it was a switch in the boiler that was off and by morning we did have hot water but this visit the same thing happened again and we were told the same thing. Also the toilet in both visits would not flush and they had to send someone up to fix them. This time they left all the wet towels on the floor after fixing. So we had wet towels until maid service came the next day. Our view was over the courtyard, but the hotel is situated so there is either a street view or courtyard view not a really big deal since we were there for Charlseton shopping and site seeng. The staff and Concierge are wonderful and very helpful with restaurant recommendations, and things to see and do. The Bartender makes wonderful Mudslide drinks and the food at the restaurant and room service is good. Wi Fi and parking are both fee based. Now that we have experienced the same issues twice we will try different hotel for our next visit. Charleston is a wonderful city and packed full of things to do, as well as shoppong and trying out new restaurants. we will be back just staying somewhere else for the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came to Charleston for my friend's wedding, but we chose to stay in the Historic District so we could make the most of our long weekend. It was a wonderful idea.

The service, atmosphere, cleanliness, and overall experience was unbeatable. Everyone was incredibly friendly and when we checked in we were offered a larger/nicer room since we were staying for about a week.

The location is perfect. You are literally steps from all the shops and restaurants. Every day we could venture out for a leisurely walk and end up in a wonderful restaurant or boutique. The shopping area is a bit commercial/mall-esque but there are a variety of local shoppes mixed in.

Not too much further away are several museums and other things to see/do.

I love love love the complimentary bike loan program. It was a beautiful and quick bike ride to the waterfront. The hospitality manager was so nice to us even when I asked for a million adjustments to the bikes. (Sorry!!!)

If we ever come back to Charleston (based on our experience, I definitely would) I hope we can stay in the Renaissance again. It was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.