We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for shops and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great location for shops and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First trip to Charleston. Picked this property because of Marriott affiliation and location. Hotel seems to have recently been renovated. Bed was comfortable but room decor a bit dated. Room size was good and we had a balcony which was nice. Resteraunt people were friendly and attentive at breakfast each day. Hotel sits half block from King Street so ideal for walking around. A car is really not needed if you plan to stay just a few days, just about everything is walkable. Nice outdoor pool and exercise room. Not a luxury experience but a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    286
    106
    29
    15
See reviews for
127
328
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our hotel was clean. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were beautiful & comfortable.

The only problem we faced was it was Christmas night and all the restaurants in Charleston were closed, save the one in our hotel. When we went to the restaurant to see when we could get a table (realizing it might be a couple of hours), the response was that she had nothing. Her lack of willingness to offer any solutions was extremely disappointing in a service based industry in a chain where my husband is a platinum member. We were thinking we might get a little help from the staff in feeding our family, but there was no help to be offered.

Outside of this, we found the staff helpful & friendly. Won't stay there again though. My husband & I both travel a lot for business, and know that staff is what really sets a stay apart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that the front desk staff were stellar. They had an extensive knowledge of their city and never short on great recommendations for food, drinks and activities in Charleston. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. The showerhead was great. The gym was small but not crowded so you could get a good workout in the morning. Pool was under renovation but we came in the winter so no inconvenience there. Excellent location! We walked everywhere. Never moved our car, which was in self park ($12/day plus tax). overall, we would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during Xmas and should have listened to the other reviews. No hot water for a shower in the morning. Extremely thin walls ..we could hear everything being said and done in the hallway and rooms next to us all night. While the staff was nice there isn't much they can do for thin walls. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The second I walked in lobby, i was overwhemed with a chemical smell that i cant describe, but it made me ill and nauseaus. Otherwise, its an ok hotel, other than a you have to park in expensive garage across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed two nights. The first room did not meet our expectations and we were assigned another without any problems, It doesn't seem that there are any rooms with nice views, but the location of the hotel is great, Everything in old town is within walking distance and you are right next to the shops on King Street. The hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. - The price was right - Overall a pleasant stay without any significant up or downs.

I did appreciate free internet and instead of a club floor, they offered a free breakfast buffet - GREAT IDEA!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet. Elevators are a bit loud, try to get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Charleston. Upon arrival, the valet was quick to greet me and the bellman was quick to gather my baggage. Entering the hotel, the lobby was beautiful and the front desk staff was quick and effecient. The room itself was nicely decorated, nothing special, your normal hotel room. The bedding was comfortable. The fitness room was well equipted with the most up to date machines and had plenty of free weights. The roof top pool was very clean and had plenty of seating around the pool. The pool itself was a lap pool.
This hotel is in an excellent location for sight seeing and for shopping. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Valet Parking is $19 per day Self Parking $12 per day. The parking garage is directly across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#35 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With boutique elegance and a picture-perfect location, the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel places the very best of the city right at your fingertips. Our hotel fuses old-fashioned Southern sophistication with a very contemporary sense of convenience, ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing as it is captivating. All of our rooms and suites boast marble bathrooms, decadently comfortable bedding, and well-lit workspaces. High-speed Internet access keeps you connected and productive at all times. Barony Tavern restaurant has opened and showcases distinctive American cuisine, with influences from throughout the South. Events shine in the Charleston Ballroom, the largest of our stylish venues. And of course, the city's vibrant downtown area is just steps away. You really can have it all here at the Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.