We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Parking
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I visited Charleston for her birthday weekend and decided to book at the Renaissance Charleston with our AAA discount. The hotel was average to very good. The hotel room was spacious, clean and updated. My wife liked the Avieda products they had in the bathroom and I enjoyed the nice (not brinck hard) towels and sheets etc. The King size bed was comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. Although it sucked that we had to pay for parking the parking garage is right across the street from the hotel. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made the trip enjoyable.


The location of the hotel is what made it all worth it. The Renaissance is not even a block away from all of the shops, resturants and bars. Although we did not eat at the hotel (we like to get out when we are on vacations) the food looked reasonably priced. The hotel was definietly a safe bet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    221
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
95
249
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We traveled to Charleston for a family wedding and we had decided to take the amtrak train. We arrived at the hotel at 5:06am after an 11 1/2 hour ride and way before our check in time. When we got there we explained to the front desk and we were given a complimentary room to rest and shower before our room was ready at noon. The hotel was beautiful and in a great location to walk all around Charleston. We loved the area and the hotel and would have loved to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel is a nice enough place, a bit over priced, but thats Marriot. It is not easy getting in and out. They missplaced my car keys causing us to waite 10 minutes extra for our car before we could go out for Dinner. I had a king size bed that slep like a bed of stone, very hard, did not sleep good. Not tipical Merriot.Slept in the ugly chair some. Thermostat located in a corner behind a heavy, ugly chair. Towels were a little scratchy, mildew in grout joints between tub and commode. Did not care for paying $14.00 for Wi-Fi. My Wi-Fi did not work, System overload.
Dinning Room for Breakfast! Don't go! Typical Cheap Buffet, Scrambled Eggs were hard and dry, out of bacon, Biscuits were very hard, out of potatos, Grits looked like milk water. Something that looked like chipped beef, tasted like corned beef hash with milk in it, non eatable. Waiter has to bring you juice and coffee. Brings out coffee in a IHOP Carraffe with two cups in it.No salt or pepper on the table, no sugar on the table, the oatmeal could be used as concreat. over all, Don't eat in their Dinning Room. Breakfast bill three Buffet meals + a waffel was $69.00. This within itself is outrage. This food is not near as good as a free Breakfast Bar at a real cheap Motel. It can't compare to a Hampton Inn or Druy Inn.

Room Tip: Sak for one hi up on Back side of Hotel. ou get a view of the area and no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and we had no complaints with the staff, but drinks at the hotel bar are very very expensive. Save somemoney and pack your own drinks for your room (we had a mini fridge). We were there for Thanksgiving and walked everywhere. The hotel is located within walking distance of some great restaurant, bars and prime shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick get away and Charleston is definitely a romantic city. The Renaissance is in a perfect location, walking distance to restaurants and it is just off King Street, the major shopping hub. Reed at the front desk is awesome! The staff is very helpful and always nice to deal with. If we needed anything, coffee, towels and yes, even bath robes....they were quick to answer the call.

Charleston was especially nice this time of the year. Just after Thanksgiving and no crowds! Restaurants easy to get into and traffic was a breeze. We will definitely return same time next year! Lord willing of course:-)

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms....tend to be larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am not sure why this property is rated in the middle of th pack for Charleston. While it might not be the luxurious boutique type that are popular in town, it seems to have everything you would want. Wife and I stayed 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. It is really in the center of just about all of the prime dining locations and shops along King Street. While the room was not very large, it was comfortable. But like other cities such as San Fran, NYC, Boston, etc you don't need to spend too much time in your room. Lounge and breakfast were more than adequate.This was our first visit to town and we really enjoyed the vibe and beauty of this colonial town. The Renaissance was the perfect choice for us. I was also quite impressed with the College of Charleston a couple of blocks away. We will be back to Charleston and to Renaissance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

hotel is well located and accomodations are just fine....but Suzanne Cohen made our trip with her outstanding recommendations of places she personally has been too.....not only did she tell us where to go but gave her favorite dishes....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect setting at this Downtown Charleston, SC hotel. Situated in the city's oldest quarter, Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel boasts boutique accommodations and modern day amenities. Whether shopping on King Street, enjoying Spoleto Festival, visiting the College of Charleston or strolling the City Market, be captivated by the local knowledge shared by the hotel Navigators. Our hotel navigators have the inside scoop because our hotel is a proud community supporter. Take in the hotel decor; regionally inspired, with a modern twist at this Charleston, SC, hotel. Enjoy lavish guest rooms, a select few with balconies and meeting space designed to inspire with convenient connectivity. See why we are a hot spot with locals for menus that mix modern flavors & traditional southern fare. Promotions at our hotel in Charleston, SC, allow you to pamper yourself in a Historic District hotel in Charleston, SC, that combines traditional southern charm with modern sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.