We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and we had no complaints with the staff, but drinks at the hotel bar are very very expensive. Save somemoney and pack your own drinks for your room (we had a mini fridge). We were there for Thanksgiving and walked everywhere. The hotel is located within walking distance of some great restaurant, bars and prime shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    207
    75
    18
    9
See reviews for
88
228
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I needed a quick get away and Charleston is definitely a romantic city. The Renaissance is in a perfect location, walking distance to restaurants and it is just off King Street, the major shopping hub. Reed at the front desk is awesome! The staff is very helpful and always nice to deal with. If we needed anything, coffee, towels and yes, even bath robes....they were quick to answer the call.

Charleston was especially nice this time of the year. Just after Thanksgiving and no crowds! Restaurants easy to get into and traffic was a breeze. We will definitely return same time next year! Lord willing of course:-)

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms....tend to be larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am not sure why this property is rated in the middle of th pack for Charleston. While it might not be the luxurious boutique type that are popular in town, it seems to have everything you would want. Wife and I stayed 3 nights over Thanksgiving weekend. It is really in the center of just about all of the prime dining locations and shops along King Street. While the room was not very large, it was comfortable. But like other cities such as San Fran, NYC, Boston, etc you don't need to spend too much time in your room. Lounge and breakfast were more than adequate.This was our first visit to town and we really enjoyed the vibe and beauty of this colonial town. The Renaissance was the perfect choice for us. I was also quite impressed with the College of Charleston a couple of blocks away. We will be back to Charleston and to Renaissance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

hotel is well located and accomodations are just fine....but Suzanne Cohen made our trip with her outstanding recommendations of places she personally has been too.....not only did she tell us where to go but gave her favorite dishes....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel was situated in the center of the city...so walking to various areas was great. If you do not like to walk, you should choose a different hotel closer to what you wish to see or take a bicycle taxi. Our room was nice with king bed, desk and comfortable chair and ottoman. I requested robes and an additional luggage rack which they quickly accommodated. The only food we ate at the hotel was tapas and wine in the bar one afternoon. It was quite good as the bartender made recommendations.

We typically stay in a bed and breakfast while in Charleston but wanted to try something different for a change. We would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floor with a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, but let down by very small public areas.A bar that shuts at 11pm even at weekends. I was attending a convention at the hotel and on Friday and Saturday with nearly 30-40 people wanting drinks and all residents the bar shut!!!! Nice but small pool and lounge area. $20 for a breakfast very expensive. Beds comfortable, bathroom clean. Overall average but expected better.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was in the perfect spot for our first trip to charleston without a car. Took a taxi from the airport instead of a shuttle which was a great move for the four of us and it only took 15 minutes instead of an hour shuttle. The concierge at the hotel was wonderful in setting up everything we wanted to do including a fantastic walking historical tour with Tom and directing us on an evening home and garden tour. We had purchased the breakfast package with our rooms which also was wonderful. I would recommend doing this. Rooms were nice and big and spacious, and well appointed. There is a bar and restaurant along with pool and fitness room. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District

Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance
Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Hotel Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.