We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Renaissance Charleston Historic District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Discover Charleston Room
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is centrally located less than a block away from the King St. shops and College of Charleston. Although while making the reservation online I had requested adjacent rooms and no down pillow/comforters, they sold our rooms to other guests due to a flight delay so my children had to stay in another floor; and the rooms had down but after talking with the reception staff, they were immediately exchanged for foam. The hotel is clean and well maintained although there appears to be a sewer smell every time you enter the lobby. The weekend concierge seemed unengaged and not too eager to help; however, Suzanne, the chief concierge, immediately took care of our issues. They made a mistake of charging us for valet parking although we didn't have a car, which was corrected at checkout. Henry at the lobby bar makes a delicious Margarita out of fresh limes! The gentleman that cooked to order my breakfast buffet's omelet (delicious with fresh feta cheese, onions, mushrooms, egg whites and spinach) was very friendly. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were impeccable although the first night's bed cover had a tear, as well as the curtain. The complimentary Aveeda products offered are nice, especially the shampoo and soap (I didn't care for the conditioner or body lotion). I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    257
    93
    25
    14
See reviews for
114
292
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We used to always stay at the Holiday Inn Historic District, but it is now a Marriott also. I was coming for the Bridge Run, and not renting a car. This was a great location to walk to mostly everything in the city, but also the boat shuttle for the race. We did not book at the Marriott Historic District because they bumped up the rate to $600 something for Friday and Saturday of race weekend. This place was only a little better:$259 for Thursday, and $429 for Friday and Saturday!! Is this the usual pricing for hotels everywhere when there is a "special" weekend? I almost wish there was a watchdog agency to report all these hotels to!! The staff was great however, some of them were even out cheering the runners when we went by. (The race runs in front of the hotel towards the end.) One of the staff even got me a microwave so i
I could fix oatmeal before the race. The bartender got 2 bowls and 2 spoons to use. You need to leave for the race before anyone opens for breakfast, at least in the hotel. They did, however, have fruit and drinks and energy bars available for purchase early. Very appreciated. I have to figure they are slim staffed for room cleaning, because that did not happen until the afternoon on our floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was a perfect place to stay in a perfect location. Everything is in walking distance to the hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, and the beds were super comfy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Charleston. It was a little difficult figuring out the one way streets. Once we got to the hotel we self parked the car for the rest of the 2 days we were in the city. We walked several miles each day and loved that part of the experience.
The service was excellent. The rooms were quiet, elevators quick, and breakfast well done with doors open to the outside patio.

Room Tip: No issues with sound even though our room was close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel and had an awesome experience! This is the place to stay if you want excellent service and the best southern hospitality! Loved every minute of my stay and especially thank Chris, Brooke and Lynn for their exceptional service! Simply the best!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Rooms are tasteful although not large. Certainly the smallest king bed i have ever seen. Pool area is small without charm.

Lobby is attractive and the staff were friendly and helpful, the proactive navigator (concierge) was appreciated.

We were put on the side with the better view on the 4th floor, well I can't imagine the lesser view as we overlooked a rooftop and parking . The best part is the location close to everything including the visitor center, carriage rides and restaurants

Room Tip: Ensure your king bed is really a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We only had one night to stay in Charleston and I am glad we chose the Renaissance. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We arrived much earlier than expected and were able to get an early check in. The location is convenient to walking to many shops and restaurants. We decided to use the self park rather than valet because we like to come and go during our stay. The self park was conveniently right across the street. This hotel was lovely, we will definitely come back for a longer stay. Tip: Look for the yummy lemonade in the lobby near the bar!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and our view was of the building right next door. I would recommend aski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect setting at this Downtown Charleston, SC hotel. Situated in the city's oldest quarter, Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel boasts boutique accommodations and modern day amenities. Whether shopping on King Street, enjoying Spoleto Festival, visiting the College of Charleston or strolling the City Market, be captivated by the local knowledge shared by the hotel Navigators. Our hotel navigators have the inside scoop because our hotel is a proud community supporter. Take in the hotel decor; regionally inspired, with a modern twist at this Charleston, SC, hotel. Enjoy lavish guest rooms, a select few with balconies and meeting space designed to inspire with convenient connectivity. See why we are a hot spot with locals for menus that mix modern flavors & traditional southern fare. Promotions at our hotel in Charleston, SC, allow you to pamper yourself in a Historic District hotel in Charleston, SC, that combines traditional southern charm with modern sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.