We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Thai

Taste of Thai
874 Orleans Rd, Unit 6, Charleston, SC 29407-4857
843-573-8825
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Street Food
Dining style: Casual Dining
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter and I love Thai food, and we were not disappointed at any time during our visit. Don't judge this place by its outward appearance, for inside you will find a quiet, intimate setting. The staff was quick and attentive. Our food was presented quickly and tastefully, with vegetables fresh and not overcooked.I will be back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food for a quick dinning choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was not our first choice but it was walking distance from our hotel and we were too tired to go elsewhere. We were apprehensive since this place has very few reviews and the outside looks a bit run down. But we were pleasantly surprised with the food quality. I had the curry potatoes and beef (forget the actual dish name) and friend had basil chicken and both dishes were very good. The Thai Iced Tea was delicious too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Service A Little Slow But Considerate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went with my wife, mother-in-law, and 2-year-old daughter. The satay was terrific, the pad thai decent - it's a difficult dish to get just right - and the spiciness of the food detuned for American taste buds. The service was a little slow, even though it was early evening and the restaurant was largely empty, but the staff was attentive to my daughter and we showed our appreciation in the gratuity.

Finding a Thai restaurant in West Ashley was a delightful surprise. Try it at least once. I think you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“poor service beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been to this establishment several times with decent service. Tonight,
we had several issues. 1) they would not honor our restaurant.com coupon because it wasn't printed out on paper (code was on our iphone). There are no stipulations on having to bring a printed copy.
2) it took over 30 minutes to get our appetizer out (when I reminded her it magically appeared a few minutes later).
3) my meal was completely forgotten. I had to walk to the front after my wife's was presented to track down the waitress, who had no idea what I was talking about...and no one seemed to care a bit.

For the same price as Basil downtown, this place is overpriced, has poor atmosphere, and the service is declining rapidly. Sorely disappointed after several times I've dined here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to Charleston 'ethnic restaurant' scene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had lunch at Taste of Thai recently and were pleasantly surprised. The quality of the food was very good and the portions were reasonable (i.e. not too small but also not too large - which, yes, can sometimes be a concern). We've been to Thailand several times and have eaten Thai food in larger US cities for forty years. My wife ordered tom yum, which was authentic, and my tofu/veggie dish was perfectly done. Far less pretentious than the other so-called Thai restaurants downtown, this place is a welcome add to the limited Charleston restaurant scene. Nice decor, too. Service was OK.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.