We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice about this one in the summer....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #29 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Think twice about this one in the summer....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We have stayed here twice -- once in December 2009 and just recently in August (3 nights). This Residence Inn has seen better days -- the furniture, TV's, etc. are all worn and not up-to-date. There is a HUGE problem with the airconditioning. The first room we were assigned, a 1-BR suite (room 407) was like a sauna. Called the front desk and was told to close the room -darkening drapes (we had already done that) and set the thermostat to about 70. It was already reading 80. We then went to dinner, only to return and find it unbearable. We asked for a different room -- much better (room 327) on the other side of the building.

The hallways seemed to be not air-conditioned. There was not a vent in the bathroom and the place really steamed up -- evident from the mold on the ceilings.

The business center was fine and private, but one of the 2 computers was broken and the printer was not working either.

On the "plus" side - the breakfast was just fine (and clean) and the evening "social experiences" were equally fine. One employee, Nicky, really worked in the evening to keep everyone happy. She is a gem.

The free evening shuttle to downtown Charleston is a great idea and guests love it.

HOWEVER, think twice about staying here in the summer months. Charleston is known to be super-hot in the summer, and your hotel should be a retreat from the heat, not an additional discomfort. We checked out a day early.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    129
    49
    17
    17
See reviews for
147
102
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Not sure if this hotel is a winner in the winter, but you should avoid it when it's hot outside. The rooms are the traditional Residence Inn. Look, feel, style, all the same. The problem is the moisture/humidity. I have allergies and they act up around mold. THe hallways, rooms, gym, etc, were all miserable. My room and my co-workers room had no functioning a/c and were about 95 degrees inside. Naturally we complained, switched rooms, and had pretty much the same thing. My room was must and damp. There was mold growing on the ceiling. My throat started to hurt, but it was late in the evening, so we stayed. I wen't back downstairs to ask about the roms and the moisture, well the lady at the desk looked at me and said "It's hot out, what can I do about it?" No offer to try another room, some extra points, whatever. Just attitude. I love Marriott, I'm a Gold rewards member. I will not go back to this hotel. We were supposed to stay there for 8 days, but ended up checking out the next morning and moving over to the Renaissance in Downtown. There it was nice and comfy. Avoid this hotel if it's humid out. The need to clean the mold too. Even my co-worker had the exact same complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The location of this hotel, while not downtown, was very convenient to everything you might want to do in Charleston (5-10 minutes to the Visitors Center). The hotel staff was extremely hospitable and accommodating. They had printed directions available at the desk for all attractions, grocery stores, you name it, which made getting around a breeze (they always included return directions to the hotel). The breakfast was consistently good, and if the inside seating area was too crowded it was pleasant to sit out by the pool. The evening happy hour with food was also a nice treat. Most days we ate lunch in downtown Charleston, and by late afternoon were content to take advantage of happy hour and lounge at the pool. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite which gave us plenty of room for two adults and two teenagers of opposite sex (daughter got the bedroom, son slept on the sofa bed). All of the beds--especially the sofa bed--were older and not the most comfortable. When we complained about the sofa bed, the staff brought us a roll-away. Otherwise, the hotel was quite nice and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We've stayed here twice and have had great experiences both times. The breakfasts are fabulous. The pool is a bit small, but the kids enjoyed it. The location is a little tricky but roads to downtown or the beach are nearby, with both those locations only a few minutes away. Charleston is one of my favorite places and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed with our two infants (9 months and 22 months). We arrived around 4:10 p.m. and were unable to check in even though check in time is 4:00 p.m because our room wasn't ready on time. We finally were able to get our room at 5:00 p.m. and were told by the gentleman at the front desk that they would "make it up to us". When we got into the room we found it to be 80+ degrees and miserable. We ended up putting the AC on the coldest setting and just leaving for the evening in the hopes we would come back to a cooler situation. When we arrived back at 9:00 p.m. it wasn't much better which led to an uncomfortable night for us and even more so for the babies. They did repair the AC the next day after we complained yet again but they never did "make it up to us" in any way that I thought was sufficient.

The breakfast was excellent and the pool was nice. However, the whirlpool spa next to the pool was broken which was another bummer. Also, we found it extremely hard to find a parking spot in the lot and noticed in the mornings that some people ended up having to just make their own. I also agree with others that have commented that the rooms need some repairs and upgrades. Our carpet and tub was quite stained, and our remote control did not work.

I have stayed in quite a few Residence Inns (we really like the fact that we can get a suite with two bedrooms at an affordable price so that the kids can sleep while we are still up) but this one was by far the worst I've experienced.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, September 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott. I have read your comments and would like to share with you the changes we have made to correct our mistakes. All hoteliers experience service breakdowns from time to time and Marriott is no different. What we do from this point is listen to what our guests have to say and make immediate changes to provide better service.

You mention that you were not able to check-in until 5:00pm and that when you got into the room it was over 80 degrees. Unfortunately, we had several A/C units breakdown due to extreme weather temperatures (115 heat index) and this, in turn, caused a delay in rooms being ready in time. I can only imagine how frustrated you must have been, especially with 2 small children. Just to update- we have since replaced all units with brand new A/C units to ensure the best quality for our guests.

You also reported that the spa was broken, your carpet and tub were stained, and that your remote control did not work. This is in no way a Marriott standard and is unacceptable. We are currently under new housekeeping and general management and new procedures have been implemented regarding housekeeping procedures.

Please contact me at Katie.johnson@fowlerhospitality if I have your permission to give your information to our general manager so that we can keep our word and, indeed, make it up to you somehow.

Please accept my sincere apology for the problems you experienced while staying at Residence Inn. The feedback you have provided is helping us to improve our hotel. I hope you will return to Residence Inn by Marriott the next time you are in Charleston and see for yourself the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

This Residence Inn is always in great condition and the the staff very attentive. The buffets are among the best in the chain.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

You get everything that you expect from a RI at this hotel - clean, well-organized rooms, free full breakfast, and good service. Our only complaint was that it is not within walking distance to anything and is across the river from downtown. Comfortable and economical place to stay in Charleston, though.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Owner at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. We take pride in our hardworking staff- thank you for recognizing them! Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable. We want you to feel at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.