We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seeing Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seeing Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a great hotel that has lots of perks. Complimentary breakfast, free parking, cocktails. Breakfast was very good each morning. Friendly staff and eager to serve. Our hair dryer broke in the room and they gave us a new one right away. The location is hard to get to is the only complaint I have about this hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Rebecca P,

I hope all is well in Baton Rouge!

Thank you very much for the kind compliments. We are so happy to hear that you experienced true southern hospitality and were able to enjoy all the amenities you mentioned including our complimentary hot breakfast, free parking & evening manager's reception. I will make sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our hard-working staff for a job well done. We truly appreciate the feedback.

For guests that do not use GPS, we have pre-printed directions to/from any location in Charleston that you can fathom including almost all attractions, restaurants, beaches & stores. Also, our front desk is staffed 24/7 and will stay on the phone with our guests until they arrive at our doorstep. We very much want our guests' time in Charleston to be as stress-free and safe as possible and we will do as much as we possibly can to ensure that. We are, afterall, named the #1 city in America by Condé Nast magazine and we strive to live up to the expectations that ensue.

We hope to welcome you back soon! Until then, take care.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    134
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
154
111
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Enjoyed a great stay at the Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 4/17/14 - 4/20/14. Was in Charleston for a family wedding. Suite was very clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was delicious and convenient. Location is very convenient to downtown. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Laura R,

Thank you very much for the kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amazing amenities and that you found the location to be perfect. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor, and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Charleston.

Please contact me on your next trip down, and I will be happy to personally assist with making your reservations. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I travel frequently for work so a comfortable hotel is very important to me. The staff here is great and the room is clean and comfortable. When I had a problem with the door lock, the staff bent over backwards to rectify the problem. The breakfast and dinner buffet are great. The shuttle bus to downtown Charleston is very convenient. Whenever I travel to Charleston I always stay at the Ripley Point Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offer a great way to get fresh air without leaving your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Steve R,

Thank you very much for the compliments. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the great amenities offered. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Charleston. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The shuttle into the Historic District in the evening is great.

The staff is very helpful. There are NO ramps for wheeled luggage. We had to lug it up over a curb and up three steps. This Residence Inn has only queen beds which is unusual for Residence Inns. Very uncomfortable if you are used to king sized beds like we are.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear LostLots,

I hope all is well in beautiful California!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive toward 100% guest satisfaction and your feedback helps us aim better toward this goal. Just to update you on a couple of matters-- We are beginning a full multimillion dollar room renovation beginning next week (April 28). All of our studio suites will now be equipped with king beds. Too, please know that we do have a ramp located in the back of the hotel by the tennis court as well as a small curb ramp at the main entrance. Due to flood zoning, we were unable to place a ramp at the back center entrance.

We appreciate your honest review, and hope that you will visit us again to see our new stylish rooms!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly and very attentive, clean room, love the breakfast and dinner buffet! Our stay was hassle free and very relaxing . Will definitely go back . My husband and I only want to stay @ similar hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Sylviad58,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the great amenities offered such as our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and evening social. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff for a job well done. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Charleston. Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Was under the impression that the hotel was located in downtown Charleston. Instead it's located 2 miles from downtown over a bridge. Hotel is old and dated. Room did not smell good. Highly disappointed especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear mike7747,

We deeply regret to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We strive toward 100% complete guest satisfaction and hate to hear we missed the mark.

Just to update you-- we are beginning multimillion dollar room renovations next week (4/28/14). All of our suites will be fully renovated and will be sure to please! Also, we are considered downtown-- just not the historic district. This can be confusing to guests, but we feel as though we have made it very clear on our website. Being outside of the historic district gives our hotel the advantage of free parking and quiet rooms. We offer a complimentary evening shuttle to our guests to the historic district and are happy to help arrange taxi fare or pre-printed directions in the day. In our opinion and to the opinion of many of our guests--this is the best of both worlds!

We hope to welcome you back soon so you can see for yourself our new, stylish rooms! Please feel free to contact me at Katie.Register@marriott so that I can personally coordinate any future reservations. Thanks for your honest review. Until next time, take care!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed during the week of April 14, a busy time with many families vacationing for spring break. The staff were among the most friendly that I have encountered in some time, and this was very refreshing. The property was overall decent and in-line with other Marriotts at this level. The room was fine with two exeptions - the sofa bed, which our kids used, was attrocious. It was worn, had horrible stains, and the springs were sticking through. Fortunately the kids are light - it would have been out of the question for adults. We settled in and were surprised to hear a dog barking from the hallway. The hotel allows pets, but apparently does not care if dog owners leave their animals in their rooms to torment guests and staff alike. The dog was several doors away but could be heard from the other side of the hotel. Many complaints were graciously received by the staff, but nothing was done. The dog barked from 9 PM until 12:30 AM. The next morning the staff promised to find a solution, and to call my cell phone, but no one called, and the dog continued its barking. Finally on the third night I threatened to call the police. We were moved to another room (with an even more disgusting sofa bed). The next morning the manager offered to refund one night. A clear pet policy is required here, where irresponsible pet owners face disincentive for bothering guests. I would not stay here again unless I heard that such a policy was implemented, and that the sofa beds had been updated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Chris S,

I hope all is well in beautiful North Carolina!

100% complete guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Just to update you on a couple of matters-- I followed up with operations regarding our pet policy. We have recently changed our pet policy to one pet per room (under 50 pounds). Also, upon arrival we take down cell phone numbers of all the guests in the room. The night that you stayed, it was unfortunate that the guest would not answer their cell phone. This typically does not happen as we let the guest know ahead of time that they need to have their cell phone on them in case of emergency or a noise situation. It sounds like we missed the mark with calling you back, and we deeply apologize for that. We try to place our guests with pets on the first floor and away from other guests in case of these situations. It is normally the case that the pets that come to our hotel are typically used to traveling with their owners so we do not run across this problem very often.

Also, beginning next week, our suites are undergoing multimillion dollar renovations. We hope to welcome you back soon so you can see our new, beautiful suites and see our dedication to service excellence. Please contact me directly at Katie.Register@marriott.com if I can personally assist with your reservations.

Thank you for your honest review. Until next time, take care.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.