We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Couldn't be happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Been here on business for three weeks. Staff is amazing! Great value , great location. Its been cold and the fire place in the eating lounge is wonderful. The breakfast is good. The evening dinner is just an extra. with all you can drink beer and wine if you choose to partake.I also workout and the have set up for guests the use of a full service gym right up the road. This is the first time I have ever written a review. I thought this place was worth it.

Room Tip: 4th floor is the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear ldr82613,

Hope you are well today! We appreciate you taking the time to share your travel experience with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

I am happy to hear that our amenities are to your liking and that you have been able to take advantage of them! I will make sure your wonderful comments about the staff are passed on to them as well! We know that when staying for a long period of time it is important to be comfortable and enjoy your surroundings. We are glad to hear that you have made our hotel your home away from home!

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    133
    50
    17
    18
See reviews for
153
111
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

While the room was a bit worn it was clean and quiet. The staff is outstanding. At check in we were greeted by two young ladies that were knowledgeable and ready to help us by suggesting activities and places to eat. They even offered to make reservations at any of the restaurants if needed. I rated it 4 out of 5 mostly due to the great staff that sets it apart from the typical Residence Inn properties.

Room Tip: I always ask for the top floor to eliminate the possibilities of noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear CTLYankee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and opinioned review on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your continued loyalty.

Regarding the hotel, you will be happy to hear that we are soon starting a renovation that will include all of our sleeping rooms! We would love to invite you back after we are finished. I am sure that new rooms coupled with our great staff will ensure that you have the best stay possible!

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

As my title reads, we were extremely happy in this hotel during our staying. We -family of three from Mexico City-stayed here for seven nights and it was very pleasant. I loved the quiet super clean ample room. The free breakfast is very good and good tasting too. The employees are very nice, helpful and friendly. Even my English is not very good they did all they can to try to understand me =). The hotel serves free hot coffee all day long in their restaurant.

Although it is a pet-friendly hotel, it smells super clean and fresh all around the hotel. You cannot imagine there are pets in the rooms because you won't hear or smell them.

Over all, I loved this hotel and if I return to Charleston someday in my life, I would definitely choose it again.

Ah, something else! the internet is super fast and it never failed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear sgarciamx,

Hope all is well today in Mexico City! Thank you for sharing your experience with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely happy to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our amenities as well as your all-around stay! Our staff is top notch and make sure that every guest receives true "Southern Hospitality". We are a pet friendly hotel, and the reason we are able to keep the hotel so fresh and clean is a very strict Marriott cleaning policy for all pet rooms and areas. Thank you for recognizing that!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a glorious review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

If on a tight budget, this inn on Ripley Point is the place to stay. It is clean, has free parking, all suites, and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The hot breakfast buffet has a variety of choices and is always good. The manager's welcome in the afternoon varies each night and offers a light meal or heavy hors d'oeuvres. Free shuttle service to and from Market Street is provided.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jim B,

Hope all is well and that you stayed safe during the crazy weather we had in South Carolina! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor!

We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer. Our staff truly know how show our guests the true meaning of "Southern Hospitality".

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future! Until then, take care.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stay in a dozen or so different Residence Inns each year and love the full kitchen and space. There were a couple of problems in my room due to new staff being trained. The manager called and explained the situation personally and offered a couple of choices to deal with the situation. Of course there are occasionally problems, but I have never had them dealt with more promptly, consistently and generously.
Great location, easy 10 minute drive to DT, quiet, scenic (next to a marina). Good location if traveling with a dog--plenty of green space and uncongested road/paths for walking.
Kudos to the manager, Rick Buggle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear roseid8181,

Thank you for sharing your honest and opinioned review with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

Our General Manager, Rick, is a great leader and inspires us all to acheive 100% complete guest satisfaction. Although I am sincerely sorry to hear of your initial troubles, I am thrilled that Rick was able to turn everything around for you to make sure that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are in the midst of training a few new faces, but I am certain that very soon everyone will be trained and ready for you to return!

Thank you so much for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here during a time a family member was hospitalized at MUSC. We were given the MUSC discounted rate. The hotel provides a free breakfast which was extremely good with lots of food choices. They also provided to go boxes for those of us who had to grab breakfast and return to the hospital in time to meet with doctors. The location of the hotel made going to and from the hospital and other downtown areas fairly simple. All in all, this hotel was a very nice place to stay when needing more space for a family.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Janrae111,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review to share your experiences with other travelers on Trip Advisor! We hope you and your family are well.

We have a great partnership with MUSC, and are more than happy to welcome their patients and families when they need accommodations in the Charleston area. I am thrilled to hear you and your family were comfortable during your stay and that our amenties were suitable for your needs! Our roomy suites are perfect for a larger family, especially when staying for a longer period. Having a full kitchen definitely helps!

We thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future, hopefully under better circumstances!!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was very pleased with our stay here. Everything was fresh, well maintained, and clean. Our room was more than we needed- sitting area, full kitchen. The free breakfast is impressive- lots to choose from, and very tasty. Not far from downtown (maybe 10 minute drive), and they have a shuttle in the evenings which we used. The price was also quite reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a pet-friendly hotel. We had some yappy dogs nearby, which I could have done without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin T, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear mfm610,

Hope all is well in Maryland today. Thank you for sharing such a glorious review with other travelers on Trip Advisor!

I am so happy to hear that our amenities and rooms were to your liking and that you enjoyed your overall stay! We are a pet friendly hotel, but most time we try to keep our pets on the first floor to allow easy access to the outdoors. Please ask for a higher floor when you return so we can make sure you are not near a pet room!

We thank you so much for your loyalty with the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.