We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our three night stay in the two bedroom suite was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is good as long as you have a car. My only criticism is of our view - our suite overlooked the first floor roof and the air conditioning compressor was noisy.

Room Tip: If you need a two bedroom, request that you don't overlook the roof and A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Charleston!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    121
    49
    17
    17
See reviews for
144
98
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this property for two nights for the Charleston Marathon. The front desk allowed us to check in early, which was very convenient since we were traveling from Orlando, FL. The rooms were very large and loved the beautiful paintings of Charleston throughout the property. We used the heated pool and hot tub even though it was a bit chilly outside - pool was a great temperature for January! We had breakfast at the property both days and it was great. Overall, really enjoyed this property and would recommend it to anyone looking for a convenient location in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just got back from another lovely stay. The staff is so friendly, the rooms are sparkling and the two bedroom suite with kitchen is perfect for my family. We even get to bring our beloved dog (there is a $100 non refundable pet fee, I knew about it as it is listed on their website but other guests I spoke to were angry about it. I don't think it's unreasonable, it's worth it not to have to board him) It was quite chilly when we were there but their heated pool and hot tub are perfect after all the walking in the city. They also have tasty hot breakfast every morning with a good variety. The downtown shuttle is so convenient, not having to worry about parking is a blessing. I just wish it ran all day instead of just in the evenings. It's not the cheapest place in town to stay but it's a bargain compared to staying downtown and you get what you pay for here, a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this property 2 nights in January. The property is well maintained and is in a great location. We were less than 10 minutes from historic Charleston and used the shuttle one evening and found it to be very convenient. We did experience the breakfast on both mornings and was very good. Our room was a suite and had a connecting bedroom. The room was very clean and the front desk and many employees that we encountered were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas, & we had a wonderful time. Our suite was very comfortable & had all the amenities of home so we had a very relaxing Christmas. The staff were welcoming & accommodating, & the evening shuttle service to the Historic District is very convenient. If you want to go into town during the day & don't want to drive, the hotel is just a short taxi drive away so it's a great location. Breakfast was superb. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for the first time from Dec. 28-Jan.3 and were warmly welcomed by Devon at the front desk. Initially booked for 5 nights but enjoyed it and Charleston so much we stayed an extra night! We love Residence Inns in the U.S. and this one did not disappoint us. We enjoyed the location near the marina...just a little bit of calmness away from the hustle bustle but only 5 min drive from the historic district.
We had a studio suite with a large covered balcony which was an unexpected treat. Could not use it as we would if warmer but we did have the doors open a couple of times. It still made the suite feel even more spacious. This hotel was very clean, exceptionally friendly staff and the breakfast room was really beautiful (more than most) and very welcoming!
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and 2 managers specials nights. That is a really great deal with a decent enough meal and all the wine and beer you would like. One night we had the Farmers Plate which that night was mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, green beans and salad. The next night was hot dogs and hamburgers with salad.
We went to the nearby restaurant California Dreaming' for our New Years Eve dinner and it was a fun night. Glad not to go too far away. Then we were luckily on the right side of the hotel to enjoy fireworks in the distance later in the evening! Perfect!
We loved loved loved Charleston itself, walked parts of the historic district at some point every day, toured a couple of plantations, saw the Charleston Aquarium and then were treated to a pod of dolphins playing in the harbour as we exited from there! Also visited Patriots Point and toured both the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown and the WW2 submarine. Very interesting day!
We always travel with our golden retriever and love that dogs are welcome (really welcome) at all Residence Inns.
My only comment was that the dishes in the kitchen cupboard had not been checked and several were dirty. We just popped them into the dishwasher ourselves.
Would we return to this Residence Inn? A resounding YES!! I highly recommend it.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a corner room on the second floor! If we come back in the warmer weather I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We reserved our room for $103 per night through Expedia. Wow - am I impressed at the value for the money! The studio suite we received is the size of many apartments - full kitchen, living area/ bed area, work station, alcove sitting room, and bath. The rooms re spacious, clean, and the kitchen is fully equipped including a dishwasher. A guest laundry is available on our floor. We are only staying for two nights, but I would definitely come back for a longer stay as it doesn't get better than this for the money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.