We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & Shuttle is very easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location & Shuttle is very easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at this property 2 nights in January. The property is well maintained and is in a great location. We were less than 10 minutes from historic Charleston and used the shuttle one evening and found it to be very convenient. We did experience the breakfast on both mornings and was very good. Our room was a suite and had a connecting bedroom. The room was very clean and the front desk and many employees that we encountered were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    153
    57
    20
    19
See reviews for
178
130
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas, & we had a wonderful time. Our suite was very comfortable & had all the amenities of home so we had a very relaxing Christmas. The staff were welcoming & accommodating, & the evening shuttle service to the Historic District is very convenient. If you want to go into town during the day & don't want to drive, the hotel is just a short taxi drive away so it's a great location. Breakfast was superb. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this Residence Inn for the first time from Dec. 28-Jan.3 and were warmly welcomed by Devon at the front desk. Initially booked for 5 nights but enjoyed it and Charleston so much we stayed an extra night! We love Residence Inns in the U.S. and this one did not disappoint us. We enjoyed the location near the marina...just a little bit of calmness away from the hustle bustle but only 5 min drive from the historic district.
We had a studio suite with a large covered balcony which was an unexpected treat. Could not use it as we would if warmer but we did have the doors open a couple of times. It still made the suite feel even more spacious. This hotel was very clean, exceptionally friendly staff and the breakfast room was really beautiful (more than most) and very welcoming!
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and 2 managers specials nights. That is a really great deal with a decent enough meal and all the wine and beer you would like. One night we had the Farmers Plate which that night was mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, green beans and salad. The next night was hot dogs and hamburgers with salad.
We went to the nearby restaurant California Dreaming' for our New Years Eve dinner and it was a fun night. Glad not to go too far away. Then we were luckily on the right side of the hotel to enjoy fireworks in the distance later in the evening! Perfect!
We loved loved loved Charleston itself, walked parts of the historic district at some point every day, toured a couple of plantations, saw the Charleston Aquarium and then were treated to a pod of dolphins playing in the harbour as we exited from there! Also visited Patriots Point and toured both the aircraft carrier USS Yorktown and the WW2 submarine. Very interesting day!
We always travel with our golden retriever and love that dogs are welcome (really welcome) at all Residence Inns.
My only comment was that the dishes in the kitchen cupboard had not been checked and several were dirty. We just popped them into the dishwasher ourselves.
Would we return to this Residence Inn? A resounding YES!! I highly recommend it.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a corner room on the second floor! If we come back in the warmer weather I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We reserved our room for $103 per night through Expedia. Wow - am I impressed at the value for the money! The studio suite we received is the size of many apartments - full kitchen, living area/ bed area, work station, alcove sitting room, and bath. The rooms re spacious, clean, and the kitchen is fully equipped including a dishwasher. A guest laundry is available on our floor. We are only staying for two nights, but I would definitely come back for a longer stay as it doesn't get better than this for the money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is not in historic Charleston but provides shuttle service every 30 minutes which is wonderful because finding a parking place downtown is sometimes difficult. Warm breakfast is served along with a light fare dinner, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza -- beer and wine each night. The staff is warm and friendly and the rooms were very clean.

Definitely a place to consider if you are traveling with children, pets or in-laws :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has views of the marina. It is near great restaurant called California Dreaming. The have breakfast every morning. The staff is very professional and helpful. Near routes to travel out of town to other locations. I have stayed there for work and leisure and found it an exceptional deal. They also have happy hour with food / wine etc . It's complementary , which makes the deal even better. Front desk staff were great!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

As a business traveler in NC/SC this is my favorite Marriott to stay at. The staff is always very friendly and the rooms are always nice and clean. Also has a great location to downtown area. I've stayed at this Marriott for years business and with my family on vacation. Highly recommend if your looking for a place to stay in Charleston.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.