We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was comfortable, it's in a quiet but in a convenient location, and there are a bunch of friendly people working there.

Some of the staff members definitely worth mentioning were Devon - who just might be the nicest person in the world, Deanielle and Matt who seem to always be cheerful and helpful with a great sense of humor, Anna, who will really be missed, Daniel who's ALWAYS working, and Rick who runs the team well.

They seem to have a cooperative working relationship, and with very few exceptions, they make a great experience for the guests!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lodging experience with other travelers. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all staff members mentioned. They are all true assets to the Residence Inn and our guests! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    141
    54
    19
    19
See reviews for
167
121
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Clean, friendly staff, great ammenities. Only 10 minutes to historic downtown Charleston. Downtown Chaleston is beautiful and did the FootPrints walking Tour with Michael which was also terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your walking tour of Charleston. I hope all is well in Canada, and hope to see you again next time you are in Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is pretty standard, slightly outdated, and not as nice as some other Residence Inns I have stayed in. However, the location is just a quick, easy drive across the bridge from the historic areas and the evening shuttle is wonderful! The shuttle runs from around 5:30 to 11:45 and drops you right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants. You can go to dinner, have a drink (or a few), and not worry about parking or driving.
The morning breakfast buffet has plenty of options, but the quality was less than average.
Overall, the hotel is clean and convenient to the area attractions. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We hope all is well in Florida! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities Residence Inn has to offer. Just to give you a quick update-- we have full renovations scheduled for late 2013. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean, good location across the river. The free shuttle to the historic area was a plus. Wish it was offered throughout the day/evening, not just from 6pm till 11pm. Our suite was roomy but the queen bed was too soft for us. Breakfast was typical RI fare. Evening reception seemed popular with many guests but we did not care much for chili so took the shuttle to town for dinner. Overall, a very good stay. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I hope all is well in Oregon! We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the shuttle service to the historic district. Unfortunately, the shuttle is not available during the day as we shuttle patients and their families to and from MUSC. Thanks for your understanding with this matter. We truly hope to see you next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When you are bringing a pet, it automatically narrows your choices, but we truly enjoyed the accommodations the Residence Inn offered and probably would stay here even if we didn't have our dog with us! We arrived around 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct 2, and they let us check in early....super helpful! Spacious room on the first floor (one-bedroom suite), which made taking our puppy in and out convenient. Because there is a living room and a bedroom, having two TVs available was honestly great...no fighting over what we're going to watch! :) Had two breakfasts at the hotel, which I would say were more than above average...lots of options! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful to both us and our puppy, and we enjoyed the location and value for our money. Would definitely recommend! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We hope all is well in Pittsburgh! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott and thank you for taking the time to share your lodging experience with fellow travelers. We understand that pets are a member of the family, too, and are happy that he was able to join you on your trip to Charleston. We hope to see you and your furry legged friend next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Enjoyed our stay very quite.The rooms are a little small only queen size beds no kings. Your stanard breakfast . The staff was very helpful and pleasant They offer a free shuttle at night to the historical district it was very easy and convienent don't have to pay for parking that way at hotel or downtown. I would stay there again. note its not downtown but across from the river

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities Residence Inn has to offer. We truly hope to see you next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Once again, the Residence Inn by Marriott provided great accommodations. The room was spacious, clean, and loaded with extras. Although this bed was less firm than the ones in Savannah. They had great nightly dinnertime activities, hot dog and hamburger night, Trivia night, wine tasting night with appetizers. You do have to cross the river to get to downtown, which only takes 5 min. But for some people who prefer to be in the center of everything, this may be inconvienent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some of the exciting activities and amenities we have to offer. We take great pride in providing guests with the ultimate experience and are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks again, and we hope to see you next time you are in town.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.