We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Gresham, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice and clean, good location across the river. The free shuttle to the historic area was a plus. Wish it was offered throughout the day/evening, not just from 6pm till 11pm. Our suite was roomy but the queen bed was too soft for us. Breakfast was typical RI fare. Evening reception seemed popular with many guests but we did not care much for chili so took the shuttle to town for dinner. Overall, a very good stay. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I hope all is well in Oregon! We really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the shuttle service to the historic district. Unfortunately, the shuttle is not available during the day as we shuttle patients and their families to and from MUSC. Thanks for your understanding with this matter. We truly hope to see you next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    132
    50
    17
    17
See reviews for
151
106
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

When you are bringing a pet, it automatically narrows your choices, but we truly enjoyed the accommodations the Residence Inn offered and probably would stay here even if we didn't have our dog with us! We arrived around 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, Oct 2, and they let us check in early....super helpful! Spacious room on the first floor (one-bedroom suite), which made taking our puppy in and out convenient. Because there is a living room and a bedroom, having two TVs available was honestly great...no fighting over what we're going to watch! :) Had two breakfasts at the hotel, which I would say were more than above average...lots of options! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful to both us and our puppy, and we enjoyed the location and value for our money. Would definitely recommend! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We hope all is well in Pittsburgh! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott and thank you for taking the time to share your lodging experience with fellow travelers. We understand that pets are a member of the family, too, and are happy that he was able to join you on your trip to Charleston. We hope to see you and your furry legged friend next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Enjoyed our stay very quite.The rooms are a little small only queen size beds no kings. Your stanard breakfast . The staff was very helpful and pleasant They offer a free shuttle at night to the historical district it was very easy and convienent don't have to pay for parking that way at hotel or downtown. I would stay there again. note its not downtown but across from the river

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the amenities Residence Inn has to offer. We truly hope to see you next time you are in the Charleston area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Once again, the Residence Inn by Marriott provided great accommodations. The room was spacious, clean, and loaded with extras. Although this bed was less firm than the ones in Savannah. They had great nightly dinnertime activities, hot dog and hamburger night, Trivia night, wine tasting night with appetizers. You do have to cross the river to get to downtown, which only takes 5 min. But for some people who prefer to be in the center of everything, this may be inconvienent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed some of the exciting activities and amenities we have to offer. We take great pride in providing guests with the ultimate experience and are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks again, and we hope to see you next time you are in town.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn for 3 nights. The room was very clean and had all the amenities that we needed. The hot water was fine the first day but each subsequent day it was not as hot. We loved the breakfast every day. We also got to the Managers Social during the week which was a great treat. The location is outside of the downtown Charleston area but easy to get to by car. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service at night which we found very helpful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the amenities provided. Our daily hot breakfast buffet and evening weekday social is a hit among guests and I am so glad to hear that you loved it. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to see you again next time you are in Charleston. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Staff are very friendly, rooms are clean and well equipped. We loved that the hotel offered a complimentary shuttle to the historic distric in the evenings, we didnt have to worry about parking or traffic. The description of this place can be a bit misleading it is not downtown but across the river however like I said the shuttle was very helpful. My only negative would be that this is a pet friendly hotel and they do not offer even a few rooms that you could request that have not been utilized by pets. While I did not think about my dog/cat allergy the night before when I awoke with my eyes red and swollen I realized that even a good cleaning crew cannot eliminate those allergans.

Room Tip: If you request a room on a higher floor you may have a better chance of getting a room not used by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Lori K,

I hope all is well in North Carolina!

Thank you for sharing your experience and for offering an honest review. We are truly dedicated to complete guest satisfaction and regret to hear that you experienced allergy issues during your stay with us.

While we are pet friendly, we do charge $100 non-refundable pet fee. This fee is used to deep clean the room, which is an all day process. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and your health is our main priority. Everything is stripped in these rooms and a de-allergization process takes place. I have worked for the Residence Inn by Marriott for over five years. During my tenure here, I have never experienced an issue with allergies due to our hotel being pet friendly. I was astonished to hear of your review, as I have always taken great pride in this fact.

We truly apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email me at katie.register@marriott.com and I will be happy to discuss. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It's about eight miles from downtown but has a free shuttle every half hour starting at five. The room, a one bedroom suite, was comfortable except for a broken door. There was free parking, free wi-fi and a nice pool. I liked being out of the center of things as it was much quieter. A bit hard to find the first time. Nice breakfast that varied every day. You had to pay for the laundry and soap powder and that's unusual for a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.