We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it and will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“loved it and will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed 6/1 and 6/2 at this hotel. We felt at home the minute we checked in-we were early but our room was ready and Jaime(who checked us in)was great. Later that day she gave us some pointers on what to see. We had a car, so it made sightseeing easier. After a long first day it was nice to relax in the pool with our daughter-the pool was open til 11p-so that helped.
The next night we couldn't decide on dinner and the front desk clerk helped us choose-Hanks-what a great choice-expensive-but worth it. Joey, our shuttle drive was very entertaining!
I will definitely book this hotel again when we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    132
    50
    17
    17
See reviews for
151
106
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rincon, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

First time there. Recommended by a friend, and glad she suggested it. The location was perfect and service was exccellent. Specail thanks to Rick at the Front Desk. He recommended Californai Dreaming for dinner and gave us a card for a free basket of croissants. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Location and transportation: We knew up front this was across the river from downtown Charleston. But they advertised a free shuttle, which they have, but it only runs at night. So, unless you want to wait forever during the day for a cab, you will need a car (which we did most of the time). However at night, the shuttle is a great benefit. (HINT: The same shuttle also runs from the Spring Hill Suites next door on an alternating 30 min schedule.)
Service: Typical of Marriott the service was good. We did have an issue with the AC in our two bedroom suite the first night. After sweating one night and having engineering and AC guys in our room for an hour+ the next day, they put us in another room and comped the first night - a very nice gesture.
Food: Other than the standard Residence Inn stuff, there are no restaurants or bars within easy walking distance. The Crab House shown on some maps is shut so the closet place is California Dreaming a street over. Else drive or take the shuttle into town for good food, bars and nightlife.
All said, this is a very nice place to stay, especially for the price, the free breakfast and dinner (which we didn't use) and the rooms and pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful (especially in regard to the broken AC). It's location isn't a nice as being in downtown, but then you don't pay for that, either.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct and ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The location of this facility is convenient in terms of getting around, but, in spite of the fact the hotel was less than 50% occupied, we were not given a room with a view. Even after having requested one. I must say that I made our reservations through a 3rd party website and got an extremely good rate and that fact may have prevented the desk clerk from accommodating us. Our view was of the parking lot and the highways. The hotel is very clean but the room was very small and we were pretty disappointed overall. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My family and I just finished a week at this Residence Inn and we loved it! Everything was complimentary! From the free wifi to the daily breakfast to the manager's reception (which could be dinner for some if you'd had a big lunch)...it was all included! We didn't use the complimentary shuttle in the evenings..but I was impressed that was included!
This was outside downtown Charleston, but I enjoyed that...a mere 5 - 10 minute drive and you're in the heart of downtown. The parking garages were cheap ($1 hour at some) so very reasonable. The rooms were very comfortable and for two bedrooms and full kitchen...very reasonable! The pool was great too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fowler62, Manager at Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take great pride in our hotel and hardworking staff. Your comments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I had my doubts before arriving due to some reviews I read after booking. Nervously driving to Charleston with some friends who asked me to book, I was relieved upon arriving at courteous staff, cleanliness of hotel and rooms, and when my friends were pleasantly surprised after my apprehension. Breakfast was great, shuttle to downtown a wonderful bonus, and again the staff gave informed, knowledgeable information on places to go, eat and park. Would stay again, no problem.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Nice Hotel, pretty typical Residence Inn. Comfortable rooms except for Couch/Sofa Bed which was terrible and impossible to get a good nights sleep on. Otherwise, a good choice and good value for Charleston. Free shuttles to the historic district are a plus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.