We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Convenience with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downtown Convenience with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff and assigned a very nice room with a view of the Marina. Beds were comfortable and the room had a refrierator and microwave which came in handy around 5pm each day. We could watch the boats come and go and just relax. Close by was a very nice California Dreaming Restaurant within walking distance. At night the hotel provided a shuttle bus to take us downtown and dropped us off amid about 50 wonderful restaurants. Then picked us up again as late as 11:00pm. It was great not having to look for parking. We spent every night while we were there along one or two streets just walking and enjoying the nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer. We hope to see you again next time you are in Charleston! Thank you very much for choosing the SpringHill Suites by Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    162
    48
    20
    14
See reviews for
95
125
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While hotels are quite pricey in Charleston, for what we paid, this place was a dump. The entire room was damp and smelled of mold. When we arrived, the staff (who were exceptional), offered us a top floor room with a balcony, which was quite nice. Except the room conditioners were no where near on par for the Marriott standard. The hospitality of the staff was great, anywhere we needed to go they were never short of options or suggestions! There was a complimentary wine tasting, convenient shuttle to downtown, and the breakfast area was very clean for a busy Saturday. Unfortunately, the room did not make for a comfortable stay and will hesitate to recc'd this place to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear LL41267,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review.

In regards to the hotel, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities; in fact, I trust that you would be highly pleased with hotel's upcoming full renovation planned this fall. We recognize that there are great properties in Charleston and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome y’all back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, KY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent five days at this Marriott property while attending an intense landscape painting workshop. The class met at different sites each day, so the Ripley Point location was a perfect starting place for taking off in a different direction every morning.

It was a perfect place to relax, also, after a long day and reorganize all my gear for the next day. i Even set up my easel on the balcony to do a few touch-ups.

Back in my road warrior days (before I retired and started painting), I learned that Marriott's extended stay properties were the best bargains on the road: room to work, friendly staffs, good amenities and about the same price you'd pay for a three- or four-star downtown hotel room.

And my experience at the Downtown SpringHill Suites was similar. Very nice, helpful folks at the front desk and elsewhere. A hot breakfast, good coffee -- and a great bed.

Ripley Point is right across the Ashley River from downtown Charleston. It's a marina area with only one good restaurant -- but the hotel runs shuttles back and forth to the Historic District in the evenings. Perfect! I checked out the local oysters, shrimp and grits and she-crab soup all over downtown without having to stay IN downtown and fight the traffic.

Claude Monet would have loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Every member of the staff makes you feel welcomed at the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and having a refrigerator plus microwave comes in handy. Also, having 2 separate tvs in the room, eliminates the squabbling over what to watch on tv. Breakfast in the lobby each morning is very convenient. They have scrambled eggs, hash browns, grits, waffles as well as muffins, bagels, and cereal. Hotel is only 3-4 miles from most downtown attractions. Several days they had cookies in the lobby in the afternoon. Grab a couple if you see them. They go fast. Enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Odd number rooms face the marina. Very pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the extra amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have you back next time you are in the area!


Yours in (Southern) hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
katie.register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel gets high marks for everything! We brought in a group of 50 on a motorcoach tour and from the moment we drove onto the property we were treated as if we were the only customers they had and they were full! We were greeted by two lovely ladies in Southern attire, all our room keys and accomodations were ready and spot on, the breakfasts were great, the rooms pretty, very clean, they have activities daily that you can join in with others each day and every employee there seemed to be happy to work there. Thanks staff for a great experience, we will be back! Willis Tours of Marietta, GA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear WillisTours,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your warm welcome and all the extra amenities SpringHill Suites has to offer! Your group was fantastic to work with and we look forward to welcoming ya'll back in the near future!

Thanks for choosing to stay with the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We appreciate you! :)


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Either this is the only hotel in town that allows children or Easter break is one of their busiest times. With so many kid friendly amenities offered, it's too bad we left our own kids behind. We asked (in advance) for a room with a balcony facing the marina. We did get a balcony, but it was facing the parking lot. The good news is the window beside our bed had a nice view. So I didn't make a fuss about it (we're not that hard to please). I'm glad we opted not to stay in downtown Charleston with all the hustle and bustle of the tourists. This hotel is in the perfect location- right across the bridge, and offers a free evening shuttle to downtown. "California Dreamin" is in walking distance, but the path is not well lit at night so we drove there on our 1st night. The 2nd night we took the shuttle which conveniently dropped us off in front of the "Noisy Oyster" bar. The shuttle departs from the hotel every hour on the hour beginning at 5pm and returns every 30 min on the quarter. Keep in mind the "heated" pool is still an outdoor pool. I enjoyed the hot tub more since I am cold natured. Free cookies at 3:30 pm, but be prompt! Also there was a big baseball tournament going on. Translation: hungry teenage boys who wiped out the breakfast bar. Again, be prompt! Breakfast starts at 6:30am, is over by 11am, busiest between 9-10am. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend it unless you are looking for a very romantic couples get-away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review and for choosing to stay with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the amenities offered. We have been busier with families the past couple of weeks due to spring break. We are a popular vacation destination due to all of the great amenities and activities we have to offer! Thanks again for the comments, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Charleston!


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stopped here for two nights on a tour with my parents and found the hotel to be well appointed and exceptionally friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean, and had a nice view of the water. The breakfast was wonderful and offered several choices for travellers. I booked the hotel based on the previous trip advisor reviews and found the information provided by others to be accurate. The property is a 8min drive from downtown, but the hotel puts on a shuttle in the evening to enable guests to enjoy the town at night. The shuttles start at 6pm and the last one departs downtown at 1145pm. The shuttle does not run during the day you will need to get a cab, make sure they turn the meter on. We had a driver that tried to charge us $5 each to ride 2 miles into town ($20) for four people. I advised the hotel, as they had ordered us the cab in the first place. This was the only negative to in what was an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I will make sure to pass on your comments regarding the cab to the front desk staff and management. We hope to see you next time you are in Charleston. Thanks for choosing to stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
#29 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.