We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a single complaint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407 (James Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #31 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not a single complaint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it! Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had a lovely view of the marina. It's true that the hotel isn't right in the middle of the historic downtown district, but that didn't matter in the slightest because it's only a 5 minute drive, not to mention the hotel provides a shuttle every evening! We utilized the shuttle twice and were quite pleased both times. Every staff member we came into contact with was friendly and welcoming. We were also impressed with the breakfast - it was delicious and I loved that there was an option to make blueberry waffles. I definitely plan on staying here on my future visits to Charleston, and I highly recommend this property to anyone else in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    142
    44
    19
    13
See reviews for
84
112
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I usually stay here either on the way down or on the way back from Florida so this was not our first time. Usually when we find something we like, we stick to it. Friendly, welcoming staff after a long drive. Good size, quiet room with a king bed. My wife commented on the GREAT water pressure (we had been in Florida at a large resort where they must have been conserving water - and there is nothing wrong with that, mind you.) Great view of the harbor, odd room numbers only. Good breakfast and friendly breakfast staff. We used the shuttle for the first time to go downtown and have dinner. What a great FREE service since parking is such a pain downtown. Cold AC, although it is a little loud for me. My wife and I disagree on the bed - she says it was fine and I could not wait to get out of it in the morning. Bring along your feather pillows, the room only had foam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

In order to have great views of the yacht club, make sure you have an odd room #. One bad thing about the rooms, the tv's had a max on the volume so it was hard to hear at times on certain channels.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an odd number and the lower the end number the closer to the water (401, 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I choose this hotel for its location since the Spoleto festival was going on and thought it would be quieter. It was. However, this hotel is very hard to find at night and the directions I was given put me at risk of having a major accident. There are no streets lights nor lighted signs directing you to the hotel. At one point I was trying to find the route and was going the wrong way on a one way street. In spite of this, the hotel was very pleasant and the staff very friendly. Rooms were clean but could stand to be updated. While this is Charleston and an ultra modern hotel would not be in keeping with the Southern style, sofas that sag aren't anyone's style. Frankly, it wouldn't take much to update to some leather that is easier to clean. I did appreciate the shuttle to the historic area. It does have all the features I like, breakfast, laundry, and pool. With a few renovations, it could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet location when you book and one with no one booked on either side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel is very clean. Room clean with plenty of room. Had a room with 2 full size beds. 2 flat screen tvs. Has a microwave and mini-fridge. Plenty of room and nice view of harbor. Staff so helpful and friendly. The only downfall of the hotel is it is out of town. It rained while we were out eating dinner. When we went to return a roadway was flooded on the way back. Parking is difficult in downtown Charleston, so if that would be frustrating for you, pay the extra money and stay downtown. We did find a parking lot next to Old South carriage tours on Anson Street that is only $10 for the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here on a 3 day trip to Charleston. It is not actually in downtown charleston, just across the bridge. It is a short drive and really a great value. The hotel is typical springhill. Relatively new, clean, spacious room. The only thing is that with that concept you might not actually have a bedroom that is closed off from the living area, more like one huge studio. You can get views of the waterway. I think if you are traveling with a family or looking for a value, this is the place to stay. I would actually prefer staying closer to downtown to walk to the different restaurants and bars.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I had two suites for 12 ladies for a bachelorette weekend. Amazingly, we had no issues with space with 6 in each room. There was 2 beds and a pull out couch, 2 tvs, 1 bath, microwave, fridge, bar sink. The room was very clean, the beds slept well and the staff was helpful. Aaron (not sure if he is a manager) at the front desk was very nice and helpful at check in and drove the shuttle for us downtown.

We stayed on Memorial weekend (Saturday and Sunday nights). The hotel was full but the only time you really knew it was when you went to breakfast. Breakfast was good with many options, even waffle makers.

The shuttle is a nice feature but it filled up VERY quickly. They have 2 running on Friday and Saturday nights, one any other day from 5-11ish. We had to call a cab company the second day because the shuttle was full. The pick up from downtown (right outside the Noisy Oyster) filled up even quicker and if you are there to party, they stop pick up at 11 something. I have stayed right downtown before and that was nice because you could walk everywhere or hop on a trolley, but they were full this weekend.

The pool was great as well.It was clean and the area around it was clean and well kept. There were chairs to accommodate all of us. We did not get in the hot tub.

I was there for a bachelorette party so I obviously did not see the fitness center.

Parking was free and had plenty of spots - even had a few spaces inside a parking garage attached to the hotel (first come).

Over all, this hotel was great and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: The suite with 2 beds and pull out couch are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Point Drive, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.