We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alot of History Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battery & White Point Gardens

Battery & White Point Gardens
East Battery & Murray Blvd., Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
AvidTraveler57
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Alot of History Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is located at the very southern end of the city.

We have visited many times, sometimes we have seen weddings going on, wedding or engagement pictures being taken, people walking their dogs, walking tours being given here about the park, or people just enjoying the area.

You will see several cannons still mounted there. Learning about the park through a past walking tour, it was the site of many pirates hung there.

It is very clean, a safe area, and many people are frequently there at various times of the day.

Nice to visit, but I often think about its past history!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    252
    47
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where's the garden?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is an extremely beautiful area but with the name "White Point Gardens" I expected to see a lot of beautiful flowers and plants. I saw mostly bushes and trees. White Point Gardens is definitely a misnomer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great spot to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We passed some time from a hectic schedule just sitting on a bench facing the water, people-watching, boat-watching and just generally enjoying the park. There are many benches to sit in the shade or sun, spread a blanket, take a nap, whatever suits your mood. There was nothing in bloom at the time we were there but it’s just a quiet place to reflect and unwind. There are no bathroom facilities I could see, nor vendors selling anything. Totally uncommercialized. 2-hour parking on the street if you're lucky enough to get a spot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Charleston Gazebo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have to say that I loved the location so much, I was married there 15 years ago. With fond memories of childhood, now the college students & visits alike enjoy lazy spring afternoons as they meander through the old live oaks! Quintessential South!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth. TX
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The very tip of the peninsula. A beautiful green gem. Surrounded by period houses. We returned here 3 or 4 times during our stay in Charleston.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery & White Point Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Battery & White Point Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battery & White Point Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.