We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Crab House-Market St

Charleston Crab House-Market St
41 South Market St., Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-853-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: "Southern Seafood and a DARN Good Time"
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Chose the Crab House for lunch after shopping on Market and King Streets. Had a delicious margarita at the bar downstairs before our table was ready. Very friendly bartender. Sat in the corner of the rooftop deck, not much view but the weather was wonderful so we didn't mind too much. I had the crab cake with waffle fries...just enough for lunch. My friends had the BLT with fried green tomatoes and the shrimp po-boy...they enjoyed their meals as well. Have eaten @ the Crab House before for dinner but never for lunch...will definitely go again when in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    350
    124
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Host not so nice. Wait staff excellent. Food was good not over the top but good. Waitress was helpful with selection. Would have liked to been asked about outside seating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Service and food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The location is convenient and the service was good. The portions were good and food was fine. This is not fine dining, but if you are looking for a decent/casual meal, you have come to the right place. It was a rainy day and we ate on the second floor. When we visited Charleston before we noticed lines at this restaurant, but not this time. It was around 5pm and not crowded at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crab House is OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have eaten here several times and overall it's a good if you don't want to walk to some of the other fine restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is low key and somewhat blah. We have eaten there when in a hurry. The food ranges from OK to very good. Maybe it's just our taste preferences.
You can be seated on the roof if you can get there when it's not crowded.. When the tourist are in town off the cruise ships they will eat anything and think it's wonderful. The restaurant is right next to the "Market" so it gets a good crowd at times.
I guess overall I would recommend it if you are down at the "Market" and just want to grab something. The service is somewhat slow.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything you would want!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place was great! It is everything you would want and it is on market street so it is very convenient from the local shopping. We split the crab boil and it was perfect. It is the absolute best! I would highly recommend this to anyone in the area wanting a fun great place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Crab House-Market St also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Crab House-Market St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Crab House-Market St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.