We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chicken sandwich and fun atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fuel

Fuel
211 Rutledge Ave., Charleston, SC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fuel (new restaurant) 211 Rutledge Ave. Charleston, SC 29403
South Hampton, NH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great chicken sandwich and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had to try this place after seeing it on Triple D. The grilled chicken sandwich was great. The atmosphere was fun. Nice selection of craft beers. We enjoyed sitting outside and taking in the ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    124
    37
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot and Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch here last Sunday. I had the best black bean soup and my husband had the jerk chicken sandwich YUMM!!! Great deals on beers too!! Also, great spot for dogs too :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hot, stuffy and meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited with family for a late lunch. Was really disappointed, as we were all revved up by the FoodTV segment on the place. The place was uncomfortably hot... And it was only about 75 outside!

The shrimp taco was ok, nothing to write home about. The ho-cakes were flavorless and were not as described on the menu... No jalapeño, and no flavor at all for that matter -- think corn dog without the dog.

The service wasn't inspiring either. About the only good thing I can say is that the food didn't make me sick.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Good, Mon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

There are plenty of dining options around the Medical University, such as the Hominy Grill, Lana's, Five Loaves and others, but Fuel is one that's a little different, and not just because the folks from "Triple D" were once here. First, the place is an old converted gas station, so it's not exactly the Ritz inside. In fact, most of the place, including the one rest room, was pretty grungy. The outside seating and the outside bar are pleasant enough, but we were there when construction was underway, and noise and dirt smell filled the air. Okay, that shouldn't happen all of the time. Parking is also a bit tight, particularly if you have a larger vehicle, but this isn't a problem for many customers who simply walk over from work. Service was prompt, efficient and accurate, but it was not busy when we showed up, just after the normal "lunch hour." The food selections are nicely limited - soups, salads, tacos, sandwiches, etc. - which provides a nice simple focus on the Caribbean theme. Plus, there's a decent selection of beers and wines, which are good to kick things off. The house chardonnay was acceptable, although the glass was a little light for $8. One of my pet peeves. I started with a corn bisque, which I proclaim to be the Best of Earth, followed by the jerk chicken sandwich, very good, too. My mate had a nice salad with shrimp, nothing out of the ordinary, but good, too, supported by some sweet sauteed plantain. Since Fuel offers a somewhat unusual cuisine, why not try the more exotic dishes... although I don't remember seeing goat or ox tails. In any case, if you're in this area from time to time, Fuel is a good place to visit at least once. With tip, lunch for two was $45.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Block-and-a-half from the Cannonboro Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Convenient to the B&B, misted (for a little extra coolness) outside patio, good service, good food ... a former gas station (hence the name) ... crowd is predominantly nearby college folks, who are easy to meet and talk to.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.